Looking for advice for new installation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Scoobalimalima, Jun 26, 2018.

1. Scoobalimalima

Scoobalimalima

G'day all.

I'm a sparky from Perth Australia, I have been in the industry for around 25 years but I have not had a lot to do with cbus other than one huge install for a Clipsal rep back when I was an apprentice. I am looking to build my new home soon and I want to incorporate cbus into it. I understand electrically how all the bits and pieces are wired together (both 240 and the CAT6 daisy chain/star configuration) and the installation of dimmer/relay modules and switches/sensors etc, but I do have a few questions.

- I assume I can just order all the parts from my local electrical wholesaler? (I have my own business and an account already).
    - Is there anywhere else cheaper to get parts, do people sell bits second hand?
    - I see that the modules can come with or without a power supply, how do I know how many power supplies I'll need for my build?
    - How do I program it once installed and what software is required?
    - Do I have to pay for the software?
    - Preferably I would like to program it myself BUT can I program it myself, is it hard to do? (I am very familiar with PLC's and ladder logic etc plus I'm a quick learner).
    - How do I go about possibly at a later date integrating it so I can control it via my mobile phone? (None of this was around 20 odd years ago when I last dabbled with cbus).
    -Do i need to have a central touch pad or is this just a 'nice to have' item?

The installation is for a large 4x2 home and at this stage I am looking at approximately
    5x 8ch dimmer modules (is this the biggest one there is?) for LED lighting
    1x 12ch relay module - Exhaust fans, external lighting, reticulation control etc
    4x shutter relay modules
    Saturn Zen switches
    Several movement/occupancy sensors for both some indoor and outdoor lighting