Local Help Please

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chrispy, Jun 15, 2018.

  1. Chrispy

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All
    I am new to this forum, and I need some local help
    I purchased my house 18 months ago in Ballarat ( central Victoria) and it had C Bus installed and have been trying for some months to find a local sparky that will / can work with C Bus, but to no avail
    Our house is fitted with C Bus 2 that control the lighting ( not the power points) and has always worked well, however I have an annoying problem where my outside down lights of which there are 20 are operated by a choice of 3 switches , but I can not seperate them from all coming on at the same time, so I need to have someone re program the system so that I can
    Every electrician I have contacted so far say things like, " we don't touch C Bus" or "Nah Mate we used to but not any more"
    I did find one on recommendation but it turned out he was from Melbourne 145 KLM away and he charged $160 per hour, so it would cost $480 just to travel here and back without any work being done.
    So I was wondering if anyone out there knows of an electrician in Ballarat or close by that works with C Bus

    Here's hoping thanks
     
    Chrispy, Jun 15, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Chrispy

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I can't help you on site (I'm in Adelaide for a start), but it may be possible to walk you through it, assuming that it is actually just programming that's required.

    The first thing is to work out whether all the lights are actually connected to a single dimmer or relay channel... if this is the case then to control them separately you'll need to split them onto multiple channels, in which case you'll need a sparky to change the wiring, and you will need to have spare channels to move them to.

    When you turn the light on from one of the three switches.... look at which indicators on the DIN rail relays/dimmer come on. If it's only one, then you definitely need a sparky. If it's more than one, then you can turn it off with the switch and then manually turn each channel on from the button on the DIN rail unit, and check that the lights are electrically grouped how you want them.

    If this is the case, then we can walk you through reprogramming the key unit.

    Nick
     
    NickD, Jun 15, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Chrispy

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Nick
    Thanks for the reply, it looks like I am in luck, I get 2 lights on the DIN rail, and whilst the lights are not grouped exactly how I would like them, it is better than before, if I do change them is there a way that I can still get them all to come on as before should I need them to by using one of the three switches.?

    Thanks again for the help

    Chris
     
    Chrispy, Jun 15, 2018
    #3
  4. Chrispy

    znelbok

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    4
    Based on what I read here I would have concerns about the load on the dimmers if they are dimmed.

    Assuming they are not LED downlights
    20 downlights. Typically an older 1A dimmer could handle about 4 lights on one channel.
    A newer 2.5A universal would be 8-9 lights on one channel (maybe 10).

    2 channels are being used so that puts them close to their maximum.

    Now if they are on a relay, forget all of the above.

    The question is, how do you want to split them up? How do you want them grouped.

    Check which ones come on from each channel. just press the over-ride (on the unit) button for the channel to turn it on and then when down hold it for about a second to take it out of over-ride mode (C-Bus light will flash when in over-ride mode).

    if they are grouped the way you like it then its just programming. If not then an electrician is needed and it may be more difficult that expected as they will need to be split apart from the circuit they are in with a new cable feeding back to the DIN unit - and you need a free channel as well.

    Remote access is also a way that you can get someone to look at your network configuration - or back it up and send it to someone who can look at it and give some better guidance.

    Hope this helps.

    M
     
    znelbok, Jun 15, 2018
    #4
  5. Chrispy

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply M
    They are not dimmable, and they are on the voltage free relay ( I don't know much about C Bus so just looking at what is on the panel one panel is voltage free, and the other two are dimmable also they are LED as I changed all of the down lights in the house ( 45) to LED from what was in the house when we bought it
    I'm learning a lot about C Bus since I asked this question, thank's again.
    As it is not an urgent issue and they all work perfectly I think I will keep trying to find a local or at least someone closer than Melbourne to have a look, I certainly don't want to stuff anything up

    Thanks again for the help
     
    Chrispy, Jun 15, 2018
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.