Level Status Request Command Error

Discussion in 'C-Bus Serial Protocols' started by driverman, Jul 2, 2019.

1. driverman

driverman

Hi,

I'm new to C-Bus and having an issue with the level status request command.

Looking at the protocol, this should be a valid command.

Page 22 of Serial Interface User Guide:
    "a. Status Requests have two versions:
    one version ( beginning $7A )...
    one version (beginning $7303 )...

b. The Level Status Request, using sequence $7307, is only supported in Serial Interface version 4.0.00 and later..."

The level request command being sent is "\05FF00730738004An<CR>" and is compliant with the protocol shown on the flowchart of the same page and the Serial Interface version is 4.4.00. If I replaced 7307 with 7A (binary status request) then I dont't get an error.

\
    05 - Point to Multi Point Header Normal Value 05
    FF
    7307 - Level status
    38 - Application ID ( 56 decimal )
    00 - Start from group address 00
    4A - Checksum
    n - Confirmation
    <CR>

I get a reply with all the levels for the command but the error count goes up after each send ( using Traffic Analyzer in CBus Diagnostic Utility )

This is being used with Clipsal Lighting 8CH dimmer if that matters.

Thanks

Last edited: Jul 2, 2019
    driverman, Jul 2, 2019
  2. driverman

Ashley

Commands like get status return a lot of data which shows up a flaky network. You have a problem with the network, not the command, which you need to investigate.

Ashley, Jul 3, 2019
  3. driverman

driverman

I'm not sure where to start with investigating the network. do you have any advice?

Thanks

driverman, Jul 3, 2019
  4. driverman

Ashley

Are you actually seeing any problems in the normal running of the network. i.e. having to press a switch more than once, or scenes not setting correctly, or scans sometimes failing? It is usual for the traffic analyser to show a small number of errors. Cbus will automatically retry and correct these.