LED Pendent Light Fittings

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Gambleton15, Aug 23, 2016.

1. Gambleton15

Gambleton15

Hi everyone,

I am a qualified electrician and have recently installed a 8watt Edison LED dimmable E27 globe (the ones that you can see the filament inside) as a pendent in one of the bedrooms in my house for a bedside table light.

The LED light is on a universal 8ch dimmer with a 31LCDA device connected across the load to stop leakage and have the light turn off. The problem is when on 10% or higher a loud buzzing noise starts... has anyone overcome this problem? i have tried using iron core transformers but problem still occurs.

My last resort is to ditch the LED and get a 40 watt filament style globe instead.

Any help or ideas will be greatly appreciated.

Gambleton15, Aug 23, 2016
  2. Gambleton15

NickD Moderator

Is the buzzing from the lamp or the dimmer (or both)? Perhaps you can share a link to the lamp?

I assume the lamp is low voltage since you say you tried a transformer.

Also there is no such thing as a C-Bus 8ch universal dimmer... if the dimmer has 8 channels then it's not universal, it's leading edge only and this may well explain the buzzing if you are driving an electronic load like an LED lamp.

TBH the simplest option is probably to use a real incandescent filament lamp... if you decrease the maximum setting slightly (say 90%) this and the dimmer soft start should extend the lamp life as well.

Nick

NickD, Aug 23, 2016
  3. Gambleton15

Gambleton15

Hi Nick thanks for the quick response!
    Yes you are correct for some odd reason i thought universal.

The Globe is 240V i only connected the iron core to see if more load would be sufficient. (but it still buzz's)

"it's leading edge only and this may well explain the buzzing if you are driving an electronic load like an LED lamp." - is there anything on the market that can resolve this?