Led Lighting issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Anthony U, Nov 2, 2011.

1. Anthony U

Anthony U

Hi all,

Am a noob here and have just installed Cbus in my own home and I am having problems with intermittant failing of my led downlights. Just wondering if anyone else has run into these problems. I am running the 8 channel 1 amp dimmers with no more than 4 ( as recommended by transformer supplier -Sunny lighting ) and the relatively new philips mr12 led master 12v lamps ( Meant to work with 99% of all existing transformers). I have installed Cbus before and all my terminations are A1.
    Please help!

Anthony U, Nov 2, 2011
  2. Anthony U

Newman

You haven't said whether it's the lamp failing or the transformer or both. I assume it's the lamps? Can you be more specific, i.e. how many do you have installed and how often are they failing?

Do I correctly assume that you mean MR16, not MR12?

You mention that you're using Philips 12V LED Master lamps. There are quite a few products that fit that description, of varying vintages, and not all of them are compatible with dimming. Can you be more specific?

Which model of transformer are you using? I assume it's an Actec one, but which one? Not all of the Actec transformers are compatible with leading edge dimmers.

The failures are almost certainly nothing to do with C-Bus. The failures may be due to the small bleed current coming from the dimmer channel when it's off. Some of this may make it's way through the transformer to the lamp and causing it to try and operate when there isn't enough power for it to do so.

If you've got a spare relay channel, you can run the output from the dimmer through a relay and assign the relay channel to the same group address. This will ensure that off is completely off. This would test the theory that the failures are caused by a small bleed current getting to the lamp.