Java Ctrl C-bus can?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gabriel_li, Aug 3, 2007.

1. gabriel_li

gabriel_li

hi all, just wondering if anyone try this before.

Using a fully Java program(got to write the program) to crtl C-bus? nt using PG or Sever X. can be done?

if so where can i get the c-bus coding, and where i should place the coding?
    Anyone gd in Java Programming here?

As i am a IA student in Clipsal SG, suppose to come out a Java Program that is able to ctrl C-bus w/o using PG & Server X. i totally know nothing abt Java kind of like wondering how to start. anyone can help?

gabriel_li, Aug 3, 2007
  2. gabriel_li

paulw11

an easy one to start with huh?

An easy one to start huh? :)

You haven't given us much background on the purpose of this; is it intended as an exercise to learn something about CBus or is it intended that this will be a component of an actual product or custom application?

If the first then you could probably ignore the object oriented features of Java and write simple procedural code. In this case you could start with the C-Bus public protocol available from http://www.cbus-enabled.com/

You can use the RXTX package for Java to interface with a serial port, or you can use a java.net.Socket to communicate with a CNI over the network.

If your goal is to produce a sophisticated solution then I would start with an object model design; consider how you want to model CBus objects such as networks, applications, group addresses and units within your application. You will also need to implement the actual C-Bus protocol as I descirbed above.

You say that you don't have any experience with Java, I assume (or hope) that you have experience with object-oriented languages in general.

Good luck!

Paul

paulw11, Aug 3, 2007
  3. gabriel_li

gabriel_li

hi Paul

is object-oriented languages in general program the same as Java object-oriented?