iPad control using iTach and 5500PC interface?

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by HowardWall, Mar 12, 2012.

1. HowardWall

HowardWall

Hi

I'm a newbie - quite experienced in frugal home av distribution and control but no experience with serial controls. I don't have a CNI and don't have 600 to buy one so I'm trying to find a cheaper option.

I've searched just everywhere and can't find anyone discussing c-bus control using an iTach unit, so I thought I'd raise it for discussion...

I have a couple of Clipsal c-bus rack dimmers and a crazy idea to remote control them using my 5500PC interface attached via serial cable to an iTach serial wifi gateway for about ?100. The gateway is then driven by numerous different apps such as iRule which sends codes to the serial gateway and then to the c-bus system.

The hardware is connected to the home network and uses RS232 communication protocol on a serial out connection. This is the pin guide...

Pin 2: Receive (Rx)
    Pin 3: Transmit (Tx)
    Pin 4: Data Terminal Ready (DTR)
    Pin 5: Ground
    Pin 7: Request To Send (RTS)
    Pin 8: Clear To Send (CTS)

http://www.globalcache.com/products/itach/ip2slspecs/

The iRule software then generates generic Serial interface commands for On and Off for Address 000 though 255. These commands can be modified to increase/decrease ramp rates and intensity.

For instance Address 000 with Ramp Rate of 4 seconds (represented with 0A in bold followed by 00 which is the address then followed by the intensity value setting, where FF is full on and 00 is full off).

Off \\053800*0A*0000B9g\x0D
    20% \\053800*0A*003386g\x0D
    40% \\053800*0A*006653g\x0D
    60% \\053800*0A*009920g\x0D
    80% \\053800*0A*00CCEDg\x0D
    100% \\053800*0A*00FFBAg\x0D

Is there anything glaringly missing or is there a possibility that it might work? I think the logic and connections are sound, but no idea about the protocols.