iOS App for Wiser for CBus Automation Controller

Discussion in 'C-Bus Automation Controllers' started by lcrowhurst, Jan 5, 2018.

  1. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    15
    I've been trying to find an app for the iPad that gives a good full screen web browser so that the SHAC is displayed full screen, without showing the address bar etc. The ones that I found never worked how I wanted. So finally over Xmas I had some time to write one myself, now its been 25 years since I've done any serious coding (back then Swift was a bird). Any way I've finally finished my version 1 and its now in the App Store :

    https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/ctc-wiser/id1330538372?mt=8

    Once installed, go to the iOs settings and select CTC Wiser. In setting you can enter the :
    • ipaddress of your Wiser for CBus Automation Controller
    • port number if its not 80
    • select where you have to send a user and password to the controller
    • turn off the status bar at the top (this gives the iPad a full screen view)
    • change the colour of the status text (if displayed) between black or white
    • change the background colour at the top/bottom of the screen (useful to match controller background colour)
    • you can also select which type of screen is displayed depending on device orientation
    • When Portrait Touch is selected if the iPad/iPhone is placed in Portrait the Wiser will display the automatically generated control screen (touch)
    • When Portrait Touch is NOT selected if the iPad/iPhone is placed in Portrait the Wiser will display the Plan View
    • When Landscape Touch is selected if the iPad/iPhone is placed in Landscape the Wiser will display the automatically generated control screen (touch)
    • When Landscape Touch is NOT selected if the iPad/iPhone is placed in Landscape the Wiser will display the Plan View
    Any feed back would be appreciated, feature changes or additions etc
     
    lcrowhurst, Jan 5, 2018
    #1
    matthewe2108, Mr Mark and DarylMc like this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. lcrowhurst

    Pie Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Had a quick play, good job works well,
    can you add 2 params for url
    one for local Lan and one For Wan ?
     
    Pie Boy, Jan 16, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks Pie Boy :D. Hopefully Ill have this in the next version. Im having trouble getting it to detect when it cant reach the internal url. As soon as I get it working I will update.
     
    lcrowhurst, Jan 18, 2018
    #3
  4. lcrowhurst

    znelbok

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    dumb question - how to I get past the Support page that it starts with? (iPhone SE)
     
    znelbok, Jan 19, 2018
    #4
  5. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    15
    Go into Settings, select CTC Wiser and enter the ip address on the Shac(wiser for CBus) instead of my website CTC Wiser Support url address
     
    lcrowhurst, Jan 20, 2018
    #5
    Mr Mark likes this.
  6. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    15
    Just updates app to include LAN and WAN IP and port settings, you can also set it to change the colour of the background depending on if its on LAN or WAN. the App looks to see if the iPhone or iPad is connected to a WiFi network, if it is, it selects LAN (otherwise WAN) when you restart the App or change orientation. Note : if your on a Wifi network thats not connected to the same LAN as the Cbus Controller , you will have to switch of the Wifi on your iPhone/iPad .
     
    lcrowhurst, Jan 23, 2018
    #6
  7. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    15
    VCTC Wiser IOS App Version 1.3 now avaliable

    Added Feature :

    • You can now select a start page by entering the page number of the page you want it to start on.
    • A different page can be entered for both landscape and portrait.

    So now if you have iPads in different rooms you can select a different start page for each iPad eg the iPad in the Kitchen starts at the Kitchen page and the iPad in the Master Bed starts at the Master Bed page.

    It can also switch to a different page when the orientation changes, eg when the iPhone is in landscape it goes to the living room page and when the iPhone is in portrait it goes to a favourites page.
     
    lcrowhurst, Feb 1, 2018
    #7
    Mr Mark likes this.
  8. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    15
    CTC Wiser iOS Version 1.4 now avaliable

    Support for iOS 10.3 and above, so now older devices are supported

    Change :
    added coding so screen doesn't "Bounce"
     
    lcrowhurst, Feb 8, 2018
    #8
  9. lcrowhurst

    Memphix

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Laurence. Its a major improvement on using a standard web browser. Good additional features too.

    I presume there is a way to detect if your on a local network or not, like with the Wiser2. Perhaps Clipsal can lend you some assistance on developing their product :cool:
     
    Memphix, Feb 17, 2018
    #9
  10. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks :)

    The App detects if your on a wifi network, if your not then it uses the WAN settings. The negative of this is that if your on a wifi network but not the one with the nac/shac on it it will still use the wifi settings. Im thinking about adding the option of entering an SSID , if if doesnt find this the in uses WAN. This way if your not on the same wifi as the NAC/SHAC then it uses the WAN.
     
    lcrowhurst, Feb 17, 2018
    #10
    daniel and Mr Mark like this.
  11. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    15
    Some new functionality Im looking at adding to the CTC app.

    Giving it the ability to send and recieve text strings via TCP Sockets to the Wiser. Currently I have had to write some LUA script so that the Wiser can receive and send commands via TCP Sockets ( I believe this type of functionality may be built into the next version of the Wiser)

    For example on the Wiser I have set it up so that it can receive :

    "Set Light,2,255,0" which will turn on lighting group 2, at level 255(on) instantly (0 seconds)
    "Set Trigger,3,10" which will send a trigger group 3 command, at level 10
    "Get Light,2" which gets the current value of Lighting group 2

    Ive put a couple of demos on youtube showing control of the wiser via the Today widget and via force touch widget

    Demo 1

    Demo 2
     
    lcrowhurst, Mar 5, 2018
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.