inherted a system, where do i start?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lkernan, Feb 23, 2006.

1. lkernan

lkernan

Hi guys,
    i'm new to c-bus but the company i work for is moving into new offices with it installed already so i have to get up to speed.

So far i've found what looks like a minder mk2 with lcd panel below that controls garden sprinklers, floodlights, etc.
    Theres also a c-bus system which drives the lights and window blinds. The lights are currently programmed to come on when triggered by occupancy sensors in each room.

There is no documentation or files related to whats there now and i'm at a loss as to where to begin. I plugged a laptop into the minders rs-232 port and ran the latest c-bus toolkit software but recieved a message about no network found.

Is the c-bus toolkit the correct software to use to connect to a minder or is there something else i need that i haven't found.

I need to reprogram the lighting system as some changes have been made to the building.

Thanks for any advice.
    Leon

lkernan, Feb 23, 2006
  2. lkernan

Duncan

The latest software (Toolkit) will not work with the Minder as the interface to C-Bus.. you will need a PCI (PC Interface) or a CNI (Ethernet Network interface)..

From there you can scan the network, identify the units, reprogram them etc.. would be worth doing the C-Bus Training Course beforehand though.

I cant help you with the Minder programming.. might pay to find a local System Integrator with some Minder experience.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 23, 2006
    Duncan, Feb 23, 2006
  3. lkernan

lkernan

The training course might be a good idea, i'll look into it.

Since the system has already been configured and works i assume that either theres a PCI/CNI somewhere i haven't found yet (not a stupid idea, i just found some more relays in the roof!) or theres some older software i need to find. That gives me something to work with, thanks

lkernan, Feb 23, 2006
  4. lkernan

Duncan