HVAC - CBUS Capability

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by Fridgey Brad, May 22, 2009.

1. Fridgey Brad

Fridgey Brad

G'Day All,

I'm doing a complete rennovation of my house, and as you probably guessed, CBUS will play a large part of the finished product.
    My background is in Refrigeration/Air Conditioning, and I'm a qualified sparky as well (also have spent some of my career in the A/C controls/DDC side of the business). As such, my HVAC control at home will ideally be run using the nice Saturn finish Thermostats.
    I've read the installation instructions, and for straight forward operation, it's very simple.

Given my background, I'm after a less than straight forward installation, it would also need to be fairly sophisticated to justify the cost of the CBUS gear.

My first question is, can I have background logic running, that uses temperature data with just the thermostat(s) and digital relays?

What I would ideally like to acheive, is a domestic version of an economy cycle for the A/C as well as a few other bits and pieces.

For example, using the CBUS toolkit, could I write "programs" with IF, THEN, ELSE statements to control all the digital outputs? (all A/C operation functions, compressor, Rev Valve, I/D Fan, damper motors etc etc...)
    If so, then my ability to control things just increased massively.

Fridgey Brad, May 22, 2009
  2. Fridgey Brad

Fridgey Brad

Further to my post above, some information that may be useful in answering my question.
    The cbus setup I plan on having (apart from two ducted A/C systems with Saturn t/stats) is as follows:
    • 3 x 8 Channel, 1amp dimmer modules
    • 2 x Relay modules (digital, or on/off control)
    • 3 x Blind controllers
    • DLT Switches, plus Saturn range wall switches.
    • 2 x Ducted A/C (one upstairs, one downstairs) with Programmable CBUS thermostats.
    • Note that there are no touch screens... don't know if this matters when it comes to programmable logic.