How to get group status(On/Off and Level) using command?

Discussion in 'C-Bus Serial Protocols' started by Tim1212, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. Tim1212

    Tim1212

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    How to get group status(On/Off and Level) using command?

    Many thank..
     
    Tim1212, Feb 9, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Tim1212

    Newman

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Can you please be more specific.

    - Are you talking to C-Gate?
    - Are you using PICED?
    - Are you using Toolkit?
    - Are you using the Diagnostic utility
    - Are you talking to a PCI through some 3rd party program?
     
    Newman, Feb 9, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Tim1212

    Tim1212

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Thanks

    I used PCI through some 3rd party on communication.
     
    Tim1212, Feb 10, 2010
    #3
  4. Tim1212

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    If you are using a 3rd party device / system / product / piece of software, then it is up to that device / system to find and return level to you.

    A compliant cbus device will run an internal model of the level of each group (by watching bus traffic) and can therefore give you the level without any need to interrogate bus devices to try and find out.
     
    ashleigh, Feb 10, 2010
    #4
  5. Tim1212

    Tim1212

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Serial Protocol

    I does how to send a command to on / off, ramp to level. but don't want to get a action first then waiting for response the status of group. how can i got the status by message with on/off and level?

    Thanks.
     
    Tim1212, Feb 10, 2010
    #5
  6. Tim1212

    Newman

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Do you have a list of commands that the "3rd party communication" system gives you? Do you have a document describing the interface to the 3rd party system?

    You will only be able to get the status of groups if the 3rd party communication system has implemented this ability and made it available to you.

    Perhaps you can provide a drawing of the connections in your system. That will help us to understand how your system is configured.
     
    Newman, Feb 10, 2010
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.