How to get DALI Ballast Status Report in Schedule Plus Software

Discussion in 'Multi-Room Audio (MRA) and MARPA' started by Zameer Amber, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. Zameer Amber

    Zameer Amber

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Hi,

    We have one project in which we have programmed group of DALI ballast of one area and mapped it with individual C-Bus group address.

    However we checked that with this we are able to control individual light from our schedule plus software installed at a PC in LMS room.

    But the issue which we are facing is
    1)Not able to get the actual status of DALI lights on our PC ON/OFF.

    2) That we are not able to get the status report of individual DALI ballast i.e if any of the ballast is faulty we doesn't get any feedback of that faulty ballast on our PC.


    Please suggest.
     
    Zameer Amber, Dec 15, 2011
    #1
  2. Zameer Amber

    samluo

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SHENZHEN
    Hi I am engineer of DALI ballast manufacturer. The problem may from these reasons:
    1. ballasts do not have function of answer inside or can not answer in time, then any inquire commands can not get answers.
    2. some ballasts have same address so their answers conflicted.
    3. you try to inquire a group, but several ballasts in this group so their answers conflicted.
    4. Your gateway not bidirectional, no feedback.
    5. feedback wires or setting on PC have problems.
     
    samluo, Dec 23, 2011
    #2
  3. Zameer Amber

    samluo

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SHENZHEN
    usually you can use a command called similar as : "Inquire actual dim level" on a unique short address to get status of a ballast.
    if answer with 0, then lamp off
    if answer >0 and <=254, then lamp on.
    if answer with 255, then lamp failure.
     
    samluo, Dec 23, 2011
    #3
  4. Zameer Amber

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Is this when some other DALI device switches the DALI load?

    The Error Reporting Application will show the status of DALI ballasts. The help file has some details.
     
    Darren, Dec 25, 2011
    #4
  5. Zameer Amber

    KCW

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Can I put those error message of each ballast into group address through logic?
     
    KCW, Jul 12, 2012
    #5
  6. Zameer Amber

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    You could use logic to set the sate or level of a group address based on an error condition.
     
    Darren, Jul 12, 2012
    #6
  7. Zameer Amber

    KCW

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Hi Darren,

    Is it using the command "GetIntIBSystemIO"? The logic manual does not give out detail information for the DALI error report function.
     
    KCW, Jul 13, 2012
    #7
  8. Zameer Amber

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    To map the error state of a DALI unit number 0 on network 1 to C-Bus group 1:

    Code:
    if GetLightingState(1) <> GetBoolIBSystemIO("Error App Unit Most Recent Error Status", "Local", 872, 0) then
      SetLightingState(1, GetBoolIBSystemIO("Error App Unit Most Recent Error Status", "Local", 872, 0));
    
     
    Darren, Jul 13, 2012
    #8
  9. Zameer Amber

    sandip1181

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    india
    Problem in to make address in to DALI protocol

    Dear All,

    - I have made the code for the DALI master and it is working fine . I am able to do ON/OFF , dimming , old address to new address changes etc.. is working .

    - But getting problem when doing make address.... mean to say I have new DALI ballast that have not any address , now I would like to give default address or any address then I am sending the command but this command is not able to provide the default 0 address .......

    - I am attaching the document attached that show the command , I am sending to DALI ballast ,

    - Please any one reply me on this, I am on final stage of this but because of above problem,not able to complete the DALI protocol.

    - I am not able to provide the default address to fresh DALI ballast....

    -Awaiting for valuable reply from you all...

    Thanks,
    Sandip Nandwana
     

    Attached Files:

    • Doc1.doc
      File size:
      91.5 KB
      Views:
      547
    sandip1181, Aug 17, 2012
    #9
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.