How to Flash lights when Alarm is triggered

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by 2SC, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. 2SC

    2SC

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    A client requested that all external lights of his residence should Flash for 2 minutes when the Alarm Panel triggers Alarm.
    When I was on site I tried to find out a way to do it, however without success. With a little search at home I found something and since I am impatient to wait to test it on site I would like to hear you opinion.
    1. I created a scene called Alarm
    2. Setup a Trigger Control Group that is triggered via a bus coupler from the Alarm Panel
    3. I set Pulse to all groups for 2 minutes
    4. Finally, the tricky part, by right clicking in every group I selected the Flash option http://prntscr.com/btipu

    Will this work?
     
    2SC, Jul 9, 2012
    #1
  2. 2SC

    Ingo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    I've done something vaguely similar but I use my PAC to pulse a CbusLevel. If the PulseCbusLevel command can do the same with your Trigger then it will probably work.

    My 'Lived-In-Look' however is slightly different though, I have a Scene for the ON state and a Scene for the OFF state. When triggered I enable a Module and inside the Module I have the ON Scene, a Delay and then the OFF Scene. The only drawback I experience is when I 'interrupt' the execution of the module by arriving home then the lights go off all by themselves at some point - I haven't fixed that part up yet.

    Ingo
     
    Ingo, Jul 9, 2012
    #2
  3. 2SC

    2SC

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Thanks Ingo,
    However I do not have a logic module in this project.
    Flash option I described above can not be saved so I am lost again (I tested in wiser)
    Any help is much appreciated. I know it can be done without logic because I have seen it in a installation years ago
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 9, 2012
    2SC, Jul 9, 2012
    #3
  4. 2SC

    2SC

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    This is not the best solution but it's the only solution I found.

    I used a time schedule that is repeated every 10sec (the sooner configuration time) if the Alarm is turned ON. However the group is pulsed ON only for 5 sec.
    As a result, lights coming ON for 5 sec and OFF for the next 5 sec, and the sequence is repeated for as long as I like.

    The repetition every 5 seconds can not called "Flashing lights", so I am still waiting for your proposals...
     

    Attached Files:

    2SC, Jul 9, 2012
    #4
  5. 2SC

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    This is not an "option" of the group as such. It is so that you can flash a group while you are creating the scene to physically see which group it is.
     
    Darren, Jul 10, 2012
    #5
  6. 2SC

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    What are you wanting it to do? This sounds like "flashing" to me...
     
    Darren, Jul 10, 2012
    #6
  7. 2SC

    2SC

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Hi Darren.
    If the intruder Alarm panel signals for alarm, the client wants all external lights to flash in order to be easier identified by the neighborhood which house is under attack.
     
    2SC, Jul 10, 2012
    #7
  8. 2SC

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    The repeat schedule pulsing the group which you have set up should toggle the "LT LR 2" group every 5 seconds while the "enable alarm" group is on. It is not clear whether that is not working or is not an acceptable solution.
     
    Darren, Jul 10, 2012
    #8
  9. 2SC

    2SC

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    I am sorry for my bad English.
    I wanted to find a way to toggle lights in a quite fast rate. A solution I found out is the above described though a repeat schedule, however the 5 seconds repeat rate is not what I had in mind - it is too slow.
    I just wondering if there is a way to succeed a faster rate (like every 1 sec) without logic
     
    2SC, Jul 10, 2012
    #9
  10. 2SC

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    There is probably other ways but I used this to get some flashing going.

    Code:
    {office lights to flash 3 times when camera motion is on}
    once (GetLightingState("Camera Motion") = ON) then   
    begin
     TimerStart(1);
    end;
    
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 0 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel("OFFICE LIGHTS" AND "OFFICE CENTRE", 100%, "0s"); {To test it I used my Office Lights group address}
    end;
    
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 1 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel("OFFICE LIGHTS", 0%, "0s");                       
    end;
    
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 2 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 100%, "0s");                                                                     
    end;
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 3 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 0%, "0s");
    end;
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 4 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 100%, "0s");
    end;
    
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 5 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 0%, "0s");
    end;
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 6 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 100%, "0s");
    end;
    
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 7 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 0%, "0s");
    end;
    
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 8 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 100%, "0s");
    end;
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 9 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 0%, "0s");
    end;
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 10 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 100%, "0s");
    end;
    
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 11 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel(FLASHADDRESS, 0%, "0s");
    end;
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 12 then
    begin
    SetLightingLevel("Camera Motion", 0%, "0s");   
    end;
    
    once
    TimerTime(1) = 12 then     {stops timer 1}
    begin
    TimerStop(1);
    end;
     
    DarylMc, Jul 10, 2012
    #10
  11. 2SC

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    No problem. I wish I could communicate as well as you do in a second language!

    The limit of a 10 second repeat rate was put on schedules to stop people from flooding C-Bus with messages.

    You can have more than one repeat schedule with the 10 second repeat rate but with a different starting time to give a slight offset. Ideally you would have them like this:
    - Schedule 1 pulses on for 1 second every 10 seconds, starting at 0:00:00
    - Schedule 2 pulses on for 1 second every 10 seconds, starting at 0:00:02
    - Schedule 3 pulses on for 1 second every 10 seconds, starting at 0:00:04
    - Schedule 4 pulses on for 1 second every 10 seconds, starting at 0:00:06
    - Schedule 5 pulses on for 1 second every 10 seconds, starting at 0:00:08

    Unfortunately, in Colour C-Touch there seems to be a problem where a 1 second pulse actually lasts for 2 seconds (issue 23848), so in this case, you would do it like this:

    - Schedule 1 pulses on for 1 second every 10 seconds, starting at 0:00:00
    - Schedule 2 pulses on for 1 second every 10 seconds, starting at 0:00:03
    - Schedule 3 pulses on for 1 second every 10 seconds, starting at 0:00:06

    This gives a sequence of off for 1 second, on for 2 seconds.

    If you are using a Colour C-Touch and really want the 1 second rate, you could do it with 10 schedules to switch it on and off, each offset by 1 second.
     
    Darren, Jul 11, 2012
    #11
  12. 2SC

    KevinH

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire. UK
    No logic....

    He has no logic module available....
     
    KevinH, Jul 15, 2012
    #12
  13. 2SC

    znelbok

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    17
    There is a thread somewhere in here about light chasing nad how it can be done in C-bus without a PAC or other.

    I dont remember the details, but if you search for it you may find a clue in that thread.

    Mick
     
    znelbok, Jul 16, 2012
    #13
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.