how to control Air cond from cbus

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Will Vine, May 4, 2006.

1. Will Vine

Will Vine

hello any one. I am a electrical contractor doing my first cbus job and am not sure as to what relays to use and which wall switch to use.
    There is 2 35 amp split units one upstairs and ont downstairs.

My client wants to be able to control the temp and on and off from the cbus and the remote control

I am asuming i can run 2 6mm2 cables from the main board and run the controll cables from the sub board inside where the cubs gear is and the breakers. any one??????????. thanks.
    Will Vine .:confused:

Will Vine, May 4, 2006
  2. Will Vine

PaulC

Welcome Will,

I think the way you have proposed is not the best way of tackling CBus integration. Maybe consider using the CBus IR Controller (5034NIRT) to issue IR commands to control the Air Con.

Sounds like your fairly new to CBus? It is strongly advised to do the reasonably priced basic training course (you basically pay for the units you get to take home).

http://www2.clipsal.com/cis/technical/technical_support/training

regards,

Paul

PaulC, May 4, 2006
  3. Will Vine

Will Vine

Air con controll

Thanks Paul,
    I have done the course this time last year but have not really done a large job like this house my only questions as to running the feeds from the meter box is because the air con units are goint to be mounted next to the meter box, to run the feeds from the sub boards will be very difficult. and can i use a DLT to contromm the temp and on/off

Will Vine, May 4, 2006
  4. Will Vine

Darpa

Split-System Air-Con control via C-Bus

Hey Will,

I think what Paul was getting at is that controlling the units by directly switching the mains on and off via Relays is not the best way to tackle what you are trying to do.

There are four reasons for this: