how DSI gateway controls ballasts on/off?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rakesh_k_v, Jun 25, 2008.

  1. rakesh_k_v

    rakesh_k_v

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are now into the design for dimming fluorescent lights with DSI ballasts.
    we propose DSI gateway for this purpose.

    This gateway gives control signals to the ballast. Does this gives only dimming up/down??

    How we can control the power to the lights (On/Off).

    Does there appear any trickle voltage in the lights when dimmed to 0%??

    if it is like that, does the lamp flicker??

    waiting for your comments...
     
    rakesh_k_v, Jun 25, 2008
    #1
  2. rakesh_k_v

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Adelaide
    The DSI gateway uses a Digital Serial Interface to send levels to the electronic fluorescent ballast it is controlling.

    This is much the same as DALI, except with DSI you cannot send different levels to individual ballasts on the same pair of wires... all the ballasts you connect to the same DSI channel will go to the same level. (This may sound like a limitation but it actually makes things MUCH simpler for commissioning.)

    You can send ON/OFF/Dim commands to the gateway just like any other C-Bus dimmer (or DALI gateway). OFF will turn the lamp completely OFF, however the electronic fluorescent ballasts DO consume power even when the lamp is OFF. This is not just a problem with DSI... DALI and 0-10V fluorescent ballasts have the same problem. For this reason many people will use a relay to remove power to the mains feed of the ballast when its level is OFF to conserve power..

    Hope this helps.

    Nick
     
    NickD, Jun 26, 2008
    #2
  3. rakesh_k_v

    rakesh_k_v

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks Nick...
    can u please clarify these also...

    we have to give power to the load continuously...when we control the DSI without using relays...

    when we use relays, the power to the loads go through the C-Bus relay...and control signals from DSI gateway to the DSI ballasts...

    when we send the "off" command ... how we make the relay to switch off?
    can u please tell how the programming will be?
     
    rakesh_k_v, Jun 28, 2008
    #3
  4. rakesh_k_v

    Newman

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    To do that, feed the active to the ballasts through the relay and the DSI cables to the DSI unit. Then just assign the same group address to the relay channel in the relay unit and the DSI channel in the DSI unit. In this way, the relay will turn off when the level of the DSI channel is set to 0%.
     
    Newman, Jul 8, 2008
    #4
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.