How do i integrate Cbus with 3rd party

Discussion in 'C-Bus Serial Protocols' started by Sanjeev, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. Sanjeev

    Sanjeev

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i am doing lighting automation in a residence and want to integrate the same with a 3rd part processor which uses serial protocol. How do i convert the lighting scene codes to RS232 codes
     
    Sanjeev, Apr 6, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Sanjeev

    jensenoz

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greystanes
    jensenoz, Jul 14, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Sanjeev

    pspeirs

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney
    C-Bus Interface

    Hi,
    I'd like to interface to C-bus gear also but not through any of the PC interfaces. I need to find out more about the hardware interfacing of which there is little information. Companies such as Ness and Inner Range have direct interfaces.
    Cheers,
    Paul
     
    pspeirs, Jan 27, 2014
    #3
  4. Sanjeev

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    3rd party providers use the 5000SM/2 interface module which is now freely available. It is a 9600 baud 5v serial link using the Cbus serial command protocol documents. The protocol documents are available on the clipsal cis web site. This is the only way to connect directly to the Cbus bus. The serial PC inteface is just this module with RS232 drivers. Check out this thread:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2014
    Ashley, Jan 27, 2014
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.