Homesafe d8

Discussion in 'Homesafe & Security Access & Control' started by Chrish1979, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. Chrish1979

    Chrish1979

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Can the clipsal Homesafe d8 be upgraded to have a cbus interface be attached?
     
    Chrish1979, Jan 10, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Chrish1979

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Great question..

    Anyone know?

    Cheers..
     
    Roosta, Dec 20, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Chrish1979

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Homesafe D8 is a very old unit now (about 10 years or more).

    I don't think that has a C-Bus interface available.

    The newer one which replaced it (based on the Ness D16) supports C-Bus.
     
    ashleigh, Dec 20, 2012
    #3
  4. Chrish1979

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Ah my apologies then..

    Do you know if the homesafe 5400 can support the cbus interface?? I cants see why not seeing as its just serial but maybe the panels firmware doesnt support it..

    Story time i guess.. Went to site today and came across my 3rd job with a 5400/16CB panel in it.. Client was distressed due to when the alarm goes off and calls their mobile it just beeps and bops at them, opposed to saying something meaningful.. As i said this is the 3 time this year i have come across this same problem..

    Called a tech at ness after clipsal support was no help who has told me that the homesafe 5400 with firmware of 5.7 or newer supports this function called audible voice rather than audible pulse.. But the 5400/16CB doesnt support this function at all..

    So now i am looking at swapping over to the 5400 pcb and using the existing cbus interface.. Seems wasteful but a solution..

    Other options is to start looking at the ness products and their cbus interface which will work with the D8X, and support audible voice..

    Cheers..
     
    Roosta, Dec 20, 2012
    #4
  5. Chrish1979

    Charlie Crackle

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have had quite a few complaints about that feature !!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 22, 2012
    Charlie Crackle, Dec 20, 2012
    #5
  6. Chrish1979

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    The Homesafe 5400 has kept the same model number for many years, but the innards have changed.

    The very old ones were 8 zones and based on the Ness D8.

    The newer ones are 16 zones and based on the NEss D16.

    The D16 based units support C-Bus.

    The D8 based units don't, can't, and won't (ever). They have also been obsoleted for about 8 to 10 years.
     
    ashleigh, Dec 22, 2012
    #6
  7. Chrish1979

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Sorry to drag up an older thread guys..

    Just noticed in the new Clipsal/Schneider TPG92 that in the security section there is now a 5400CB C-Bus Interface to suit 5400, 5400/8 and 5400/16 alarm panels..

    I would love some more info and price on this product if possible please..

    Cheers..
     
    Roosta, May 16, 2013
    #7
  8. Chrish1979

    P2T

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I'm also interested in this - can anybody outline the changes happening to the 5400 series line?
     
    P2T, Jun 13, 2013
    #8
  9. Chrish1979

    iangr19642

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tasmania
    clipsal 5400 db

    I have just installed one of the older d8 systems and can not get it to program anyone know why ian
     
    iangr19642, Jan 22, 2016
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.