Homelink Bridge

Discussion in 'Third-Party Solutions' started by 71monaro, Jun 11, 2014.

  1. 71monaro

    71monaro

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Are CIS talking to apple at all about the Homelink Bridge concept?

    quote from http://techcrunch.com/2014/06/06/ap...cess-rests-with-hardware-evangelism/?ncid=rss

    Linking Your Old And New Smart Homes
    That?s not to say that customers will have to re-buy all of their smart home equipment for it to be controlled by HomeKit-compatible apps. Apple has created a provision for a piece of ?bridge? hardware that will translate the languages that current devices use to accept commands over to the new language Apple is using.
    A bridge will give your iPhone the ability to control your home equipment using HomeKit even if they can?t connect directly to those devices.
     
    71monaro, Jun 11, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. 71monaro

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    I would highly doubt it...
     
    Roosta, Jun 11, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. 71monaro

    rhamer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    The HomeKit bridge is not really about linking the old to the new, it is a mechanism for linking one to many.

    It is of course the logical interface mechanism for connecting C-Bus as a whole entity to HomeKit.

    It may be possible to go to Bunnings and buy an individual light bulb with all the interface circuitry built in to allow it to interface singularly to HomeKit, but for systems such as C-Bus (and many others that already have the concept of their own group communication and infrastructure) a single interface point that exposes all the individual end entities back to HomeKit is what is needed. The HomeKit bridge is that unit.

    Now of course it's easy to say it, but much harder to do it. To develop such a device requires a significant investment including being accepted into Apples MFi program, signing NDA's a foot thick and of course paying Apple royalties for every device manufactured (before they are even sold). The Bridge is more than just new firmware on a CNI talking the HomeKit lingo. Apple require specific custom chips to be designed into the hardware that handle the communication and authentication of the device. Apple are very serious these days about privacy and security.

    There is also the question of what do you get at the end of the day. Sure if you have a collection of unconnected technologies, then bringing control to them from a single app is worthwhile, however in the case of C-Bus that is fundamental to what it is. Lots of single devices connected cohesively into a logical system, able to be controlled from a single (or multiple) interface point(s). That's not to say HomeKit is not a good idea, it is, but it is not really aimed at the C-Bus type of installation, but more towards the buy it and plug it in end user.

    So is CIS looking at building such a unit? Who knows, but someone else might be.

    Cheers

    Rohan
     
    rhamer, Jun 11, 2014
    #3
  4. 71monaro

    71monaro

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I am not really into an iphone as a just a touch input device. I would love to have voice commands like an always active Siri, wall mounted ipod (or an ATV v4) as an input device. This may be only possible with something like Homey (when released), then I would need a v-wave relay + c-bus aux input channel per command, or use an NIRL channel per command within sight of the Homey.
     
    71monaro, Jun 14, 2014
    #4
  5. 71monaro

    71monaro

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    71monaro, Aug 8, 2014
    #5
  6. 71monaro

    Charlie Crackle

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne

    My IOS 8 phone needs some home kit devices.


    For the moment I have to be happy with second option...
     

    Attached Files:

    Charlie Crackle, Sep 18, 2014
    #6
  7. 71monaro

    71monaro

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Lithouse is about to release what appears to be able to a module controlled by Siri through Homekit that could connect to a C-bus Aux input or Bus Coupler, but how many channels? bring on the iTransLink
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 18, 2014
    71monaro, Sep 18, 2014
    #7
  8. 71monaro

    71monaro

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    new information

    Looks like there is an opportunity to provide Homekit integration with C-Bus. Apple will allow a certified bridge if the transport medium is not Wifi or Bluetooth.

    Quote" That doesn?t leave a lot of products that will work with a HomeKit bridge, but Apple will permit bridging of Bluetooth products that don?t provide control of the home and only provide data to HomeKit, such as a reading from a sensor. In addition, accessories that use alternative transports like ZigBee or proprietary RF sensors can be bridged, so long as they use an MFi-certified HomeKit bridge. "

    from http://9to5mac.com/2015/01/22/apple...ity-with-competing-home-automation-platforms/
     
    71monaro, Jan 23, 2015
    #8
  9. 71monaro

    Dvine

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.