Homebridge UI raspberry pi image

Discussion in 'Voice Control' started by DarylMc, Jul 9, 2020.

  1. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    For anyone interested I am working with CBus forum member Greig to test a raspberry pi setup with Homebridge UI prebuilt image, Homebridge-CBus plug-in, CGate server and Greig’s script to automate the whole setup somewhat.

    Homebridge UI seems to have a good user base and support so I think moving forward it might make installing and maintaining a Homebridge system simpler for users.
    Specifically users new to Linux.
    https://github.com/homebridge/homebridge-raspbian-image/wiki/Getting-Started
    The web based user interface looks good, has useful tools and provides some handy information.

    Greig created a script which installs everything needed for Homebridge-CBus and CGate on top of Raspbian Buster Lite.
    This works well in my experience and added some automation to the process of adding CBus groups to the config file.
    I’ve used it a few times and it really speeds up an install.
    https://github.com/greiginsydney/Homebridge-cbus-installer

    I’ve asked Greig to adapt a configuration to run on top of the prebuilt raspberry pi Homebridge UI image.
    At the moment I am compiling a list of steps for Greig and testing on a raspberry pi4 connected to a small test CBus network.
    I am using a CBus 5500PC RS232 interface connected to Moxa 5150A device server to provide the Ethernet interface for CBus.
    It is running now and I’ve uploaded some files and info to OneDrive if anyone is interested.
    https://1drv.ms/f/s!AminzOc-NC4UhbMqiSbBszZtz4E4pg
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2020
    DarylMc, Jul 9, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    I did notice a problem with the CBus network toggled accessories not being updated in the Home app on the phone.
    Restarting Homebridge service without rebooting seemed to fix.
    Suspect I need to add a delay to Homebridge service start as per my previous Homebridge setups.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2020
    DarylMc, Jul 9, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    I’ve added a timer to delay the Homebridge service start after reboot.
    Testing it now.
     
    DarylMc, Jul 9, 2020
    #3
    Mr Mark likes this.
  4. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Made some changes and updated spreadsheet.
    Wiped SD and start from beginning.
    Testing now.
     
    DarylMc, Jul 10, 2020
    #4
    chromus likes this.
  5. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    If anyone wants to have a look at Greig's new script you can do so by selecting the v2 branch on GitHub.
    https://github.com/greiginsydney/Homebridge-cbus-installer/blob/v2/SETUP.md

    svn export https://github.com/greiginsydney/Homebridge-cbus-installer/branches/v2/code/ ~ --force

    Preliminary instructions here
    Between this and the prompts you can probably figure it out.
    https://github.com/greiginsydney/Homebridge-cbus-installer/blob/v2/SETUP.md
    The way the script can help create the config file and add accessories is a really nice touch compared to doing it all manually.

    The Homebridge UI setup has some nice features for adding and configuring plugins.
    I think there is a lot of scope for further development of Anthony's Homebridge CBus plugin to allow more configuration within the UI.
    Perhaps also adding CGate as a part of the hb-config tool.
    https://github.com/homebridge/homebridge-raspbian-image/wiki#useful-commands
     
    DarylMc, Jul 18, 2020
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.