Help with RS232 to custom application

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Alistair, Feb 1, 2006.

1. Alistair

Alistair

Hi I am very new to this, on the course week after next.

I was looking for a way to graphically display states and control all loads from a central location as a precursor to creating a wizard type application that will allow a PC to act as a PAC replacement so end users can try out complex logical arrangements of loads when the building is still on the drawing board.
    This is the stage at which I will be involved in projects.

The system will need to function as a c-Bus simulator with a point and click GUI representing the building (probably written in PHP.

I looked at the options c-gate and the module but as I want to work in VB6 and later VB.net or C# the support is limited and I couldn?t get the module to work in VB6 (but that is probably because my API declarations were wrong rather than anything else.

As I am so new I don?t expect I would be accepted on the partner program so I did a little sniffing on the com port and now have an app (64K compiled VB6) which will commands sent to groups from anything and can feed them back to simulate that action again or be edited to do other stuff.

My problem is correctly utilising the rs232 protocol, checksums and the like, and specifically finding out how to initialise the PCI.

everything works fine wit toolkit and c-gate shut down but only after the network has been scanned at least once after a power down prior to a scan I can send but don?t see any data coming back (nothing when a group is acted on.

some strings I am using :-

Group1 off \053800.0101 (no checksum! but it works)
    Group 1 to percentage \053800.0201AAC1 (% not mapped yet)
    Group1 on \053800.7901
    Group 1-4 off \053800.0101.0102.0103.0104
    Group 1-4 on \053800.7901.7902.7903.7904