Help wanted

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by welshman, Apr 17, 2011.

1. welshman

welshman

Just wandered if anyone can help me? I'm totally new to cbus and in the process of trying to install a new system to control the lighting in a new cafe/bar in St Kilda, Melbourne. It's probably the most basic of systems but I'm having trouble getting a straight answer out of anyone.

The system is wired thus...

1. Cbus cat5 from the LCD control panel back to the cbus board.
    2. Some 20 channels worth of switching from the board (these include a requirement for LED strip dimming, fluro light dimming, straight on/off fluro switching and dimming of down lights and track lights).

So my questions are...

1. Do i need a PC interface?
    2. Can a dimming relay do straight on/off switching for my fluros?
    3. Does 1A per channel have any tolerance? i.e will it cope with 1.3A or at least 1.08A?
    4. Is it cheaper/easier to buy modules with in built power supplies or do I buy the power supply module?
    5. Do i need the Dali gateway for the dimmable fluros? If so can I also use it for dimming the LED strip lights? What is the output voltage of the Dali module?
    6. With the cbus board being directly adjacent to the main switchboard what is the preferred method of 240v supply? Individual rcbo's in the switchboard direct to the modules? Or one supply in to the cbus board and then rcbo's?
    7. With electronic transformers, LED drivers and dimmers, and lights with integral transformers do I need a universal dimmer of will a standard dimmer module work?

I know this is a lot of information to ask for and I'm sorry for that but if anyone could help in some way it would be greatly appreciated. Or failing that if anyone knows of someone in Melbourne who might be able to meet up with me or speak to me over the phone then that too would be appreciated.

Many thanks

welshman, Apr 17, 2011
  2. welshman

SBL

Some pointers