Hardware interface between C-Bus & Niagara BMS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by anupam, Oct 7, 2008.

1. anupam

anupam

We have a building coming up where we would be installing C-bus for the Lighting control.For BMS we have given CITECT. Customer already has Niagra BMS working on Bacnet. He now insists on having a C-Bus to Bacnet HARDWARE interface which can work simultaneously with Citect. He is not ready for a software solution. I was earlier thinking on Xenta-913 from TAC. But i was told that it's for C-Bus to LON or BACnet to LON, no cross protocol C-Bus to BACnet data transfer. Please suggest what kind of hardware interface can be used in this scenario. I am also attaching line diagram for the same.

Attached Files:

anupam, Oct 7, 2008
  2. anupam

Richo

There are hardware BacNet to C-Bus interfaces out there, although I have no direct experience with any of them. Hopefully someone can step up and make a recommendation.

The question I have looking at the requirements in the attachment is how the failover between Citect and the BMS is meant to operate? Is that over BacNet<-> C-bus as well? or is there an alternative communications between Citect and the BMS?

Richo, Oct 7, 2008
  3. anupam

anupam

Niagra BMS and Citect are two independent BMS servers. They both are connected to the Customers main line. Niagra BMS and Citect need to work independently coz if One goes down other is still working and vis a vis.
    I hope this helps.

anupam, Oct 7, 2008
  4. anupam

Richo

From your document "In a condition if any server(Citect or Niagara) fails the other server should take over." This implies that they aren't independent systems but need to perform the other servers function should it fail and thus implying that the servers need to share state information to achieve this (even if this state is simply "hey I'm OK").

Richo, Oct 7, 2008
  5. anupam

anupam