Erratic Homegate

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ColinCamSmith, Sep 12, 2023.

1. ColinCamSmith

ColinCamSmith

I have been using Homegate integrated with Cbus Toolkit since about 2008. Currently the latest updated software in use is Homegate 4.12.1 and Toolkit 1.16.3. 2592.
    Over the last week, strange issues have started which are not always reflected in the Cbus Log.
    For example an Irrigation valve came on this morning but the switch in Homegate is Off and the Log shows it has not been exercised.
    More importantly physically turning off the valve in Cbus (although it was Off) did not stop the flow. Further, the supply Pump would not turn off.
    It has becaome so erratic that my concern is I may have to go back to old fashion switches for heating and irrigation etc.
    Has anyone had similar problems of recent times.

ColinCamSmith, Sep 12, 2023
  2. ColinCamSmith

Wonkey

Are all the strange events associated with the same relay unit, if so then it could be that unit that is failing.
    Note that if a group address is already OFF then issuing an OFF command will have no effect on the network.
    If it occurs again turn the group address ON then OFF to see if the relay responds.
    I am presuming that the relay in question is an ELV relay and if so, it would be easy and safe to check that the C-Bus terminations are in good condition and the terminal block screws are tight.

Wonkey, Sep 12, 2023
  3. ColinCamSmith

ColinCamSmith

Thanks for that info but each of the problems occur on different relays. This morning was a mixed bag. The scheduled irrigation valves opened on time but did not shut off causing a big draw on my Dam.