Do I need Savant / Control4 with CBUS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by escusemay, Feb 14, 2021.

1. escusemay

escusemay

Hi all,

I'm totally new to home automation and in the process of finalizing our electrical plan for our new house build (~340sqm floor area). The electrician has offered me a complete CBUS system for about $26k (Brisbane).

He's also proposed:

A. Savant Control system ($7.5k)
    - 12 Zone host; 1 hand held remote; garage door control with feedback; up to 12 IR devices; smart cabling for 3 TV zones; integrate up to 8 cameras; control lighting system (up to 10 loads)

B. Intercom - Savant ($2k)
    - ring to come through speakers on Savant Sipa 50, allowed for heavy duty version.

C. Savant 4 channel amplifier ($6.5k)
    - 4 zone 50w per channel, Monitor Audio C180 speakers, ceiling speakers

D. Inner Range Inception Alarm ($7k)
    - includes wireless reeds, metal reeds for garage door, wired reeds

That's already an extra $23k over CBUS. I'm trying to achieve the following:
    1. Lights that switch on automatically (entrance, pantry, closets, bathroom main light, garage, etc).
    2. After certain times of day (eg. after 10pm), would like strip lightning to only switch on in bathroom cabinetry/hallway lights/kitchen cabinetry strips etc.
    3. Reed switches - alerts sent to phone if an external door/garage has been left open for more than 10minutes
    4. Light switch and dimming control from phone
    5. Scenes probably not super important now that I think about it, and simple ones can be done through CBUS right?
    6. Other lights are manually turned on but kick off automatically after a period of time with no motion (vanities, etc)
    7. Certain buttons control a large number of lights. For example, I can control the overhead table light, island lighting and cabinet lighting in the kitchen in the space of one switch
    8. Clerestory window opens and closes at a certain temperature/weather events