DMX gateway

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by more-solutions, Sep 22, 2011.

1. more-solutions

more-solutions

I have a small change to make to an existing site where they want to add some feature lighting controlled via DMX.

As I have never used DMX before, is there anything I need to know?

I am assuming at the moment that I will be able to supply the lighting from a spare relay channel, and set levels via a DMX module, therefore the cabling is simply the mains cabling from relay to lighting and the signal cable just CAT5 from DMX module to the lighting modules. Is that about right? (I don't believe there are any additional power supplies needed on the DMX side as with DALI are there? I just daisy-chain the signal cable between modules, of which there will be about 4?)

It won't be me doing the install anyway but the installer doesn't know DMX either and seem to be looking to me as the expert....

more-solutions, Sep 22, 2011
  2. more-solutions

ashleigh Moderator

Do a quick read-up on DMX (google it). It's pretty simple stuff.

Basically you map a C-Bus group to a DMX slot number.

Just set your DMX gear with the same slot numbers you configure in the gateway.

DMX (at least, not this version of it) can't answer back - so the gateway is like a send-n-forget. If stuff does not happen on the DMX loads, its probably a mismatch of DMX slot numbers thats the cause.

ashleigh, Sep 22, 2011
  3. more-solutions

more-solutions

4. more-solutions

more-solutions

Additional question: If the architect just wants to set the lights once to a desired level, and from then on we only ever switch on to that level (or off), do DMX controlled fittings generally hold their level after being set on power loss or does it need re-setting? If it's device dependant, is there a key phrase I should be looking for in their spec?

5. more-solutions

ashleigh Moderator

Hmmm...

Hard one.