DLT display very dim

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by tassiebean, Apr 24, 2019.

1. tassiebean

tassiebean

Hi, newbie here. I moved into a new (old) house about 6 months ago that had a whole-of-house C-Bus system installed 4 years ago. I've had fun tweaking it all to get it how I like it. Including programming the logic engine to talk to a Raspberry Pi to control my Hue lights as well (Hue scenes selectable on my c-bus CTC and my Wiser2 phone app!), so I can set scenes that are a combination of c-bus dimmers and hue globes. But that's another story.

The existing system had two DLT's that I thought were working as designed. However, I bought a new one which arrived yesterday, and I was impressed with how bright the display was, and certainly much brighter than the existing two units (which are probably equivalent to about 5% on the new one). So I checked the brightness settings for the existing ones, and all is correct. I even changed one to follow a group, and that worked fine as well (but just changing from off to very dim).

So, has anyone experienced this before? Is the backlight for the LCD panel LED or fluorescent based? Fluoros dim over time, but LED should be fine. Any thoughts?

Thanks

tassiebean, Apr 24, 2019
  2. tassiebean

tassiebean

I suspect I might have been too long-winded there. So to put it more simply, is it a known issue that DLT units lose their brightness over time, and what settings are thought to minimise it (if it is an issue)?

Thanks.

tassiebean, Apr 30, 2019
  3. tassiebean

cheekymonkey

Forgot about this problem until today when I installed and old DLT I had lying around . I have a couple that have the same issue, didnt really notice it until I also purchased a couple of new ones.
    Checking the toolkit I found the "trained" installer had set them at 100%, seems to kill the backlight after about 5yrs so swapped them out.