DLT and EDLT owners

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by grssll, Dec 25, 2017.

  1. grssll

    grssll

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Doing little bit of reno and was thinking of moving my switches up from standard height to about
    1800 of the floor to better see screen animation.
    Would that be little unusual to use or if you decide to sell the house?
    What do you guys think?
    Cheers
    George
     
    grssll, Dec 25, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. grssll

    Monkey Magic

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Townsville
    Kids?
    I'd always stick with standard, I had a standard rocker switch moved high temporarily and every time I walked into a room it was odd.
    Josh
     
    Monkey Magic, Dec 25, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. grssll

    znelbok

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    4
    I dont have any DLT's, but have helped in a house that has them. Theirs are low and seem awkward to me. i installed all my switches at 1500 - not quite the height you are contemplating, but higher than the normal. I see all other houses an odd now.

    The above mentioned house also has a LCD screen for teh A/C at the same height as the switch and I have to bend to read it properly (Contrast). Its really setup for short people and not taller (6') people whereas the 1500 I believe is a nice compromise.
     
    znelbok, Dec 25, 2017
    #3
  4. grssll

    Conformist

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    I always put all C-Bus switches at 1450 high. Works for normal switches and DLT's/eDLTs too
     
    Conformist, Dec 26, 2017
    #4
  5. grssll

    grssll

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Will probably go to 1500 same as my touchscreens.
     
    grssll, Dec 26, 2017
    #5
  6. grssll

    jonnyp64

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    I have decided that the next job that i do with DLT's that i will place all switches at 1300-if the owner/architect allows. Standard height of 1100 is way too low for any switch with a screen and very difficult to use.
     
    jonnyp64, Dec 27, 2017
    #6
  7. grssll

    znelbok

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    4
    Can I side track this thread a little bit - its a question for eDLT owners

    I have had a comment made that the switches do not always work first time. I had noticed this when setting up - but I thought it was just me as I was only dealing with shutter controls on the eDLT and nothing else.

    If I pressed a button to say open nothing would happen, pressing again and it would open. This was pretty consistent, but I just put it down to me not pressing correctly.

    I have noticed this at two separate houses so its not just s single eDLT
     
    znelbok, Dec 27, 2017
    #7
  8. grssll

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Hi Mick
    Do they have a selectable "ignore first press" or some night light setting like the Neo's?
     
    DarylMc, Dec 28, 2017
    #8
  9. grssll

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I noticed recently that the debounce time on the eDLTs out of the factory was set to 75ms instead of the normal 48ms, and know of at least one instance where this was the root cause of the complaint about the shutter relay widget not working the first time.

    Try setting the debounce to 50ms.

    Nick
     
    NickD, Jan 2, 2018
    #9
    Mr Mark likes this.
  10. grssll

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Adelaide
    There isn't really much in the way of "animation" on the DLTs or eDLTS so you're not missing much in that regard. The viewing angle on the eDLTs is actually really good from all directions so you don't need to worry too much about that.

    But 1800?? That's above eye level for most people!

    Mine are higher than normal... maybe 1500ish. I only did this because there was one plate on the wall already at that height and I wanted to match it, but it works quite well with the eDLTs, and my kids can reach them now that they're old enough to need to (6/7).

    Nick
     
    NickD, Jan 3, 2018
    #10
  11. grssll

    Ambro

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide

    As a builder i would be between 1300-50 for saturn switches (dlt/edlt too) and 1400-50 for the now defunct CTC.

    Things that require a touch screen need at least 1400+

    As always - depends on the client... :eek:

    (measurements from bottom edge)
     
    Ambro, Jan 3, 2018
    #11
  12. grssll

    ampcom

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hello Mick,

    I have had the exact same thing on a recent job.
    Was really annoying in not really resolving it as it generally worked every time, but did have its moments as you described. I.e. pressed a button to say open nothing would happen, pressing again and it would open.

    Thank you Nick for the advice of adjusting the debounce time.
    I will attend the customer over the next week or so, or when convenient with them and adjust this.
    Will post my results after testing etc.

    Cheers,
    Philip
     
    ampcom, Jan 6, 2018
    #12
  13. grssll

    Matthew

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I am doing a commercial install of eDLT's and the height specified is 1500mm affl.
     
    Matthew, Jan 29, 2018
    #13
  14. grssll

    ampcom

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hello All,

    Just providing feedback regarding the eDLT switches sometimes not working especially with shutter controls.

    I changed the debounce time to 50ms and definitely works really well now.
    Every time the button is pressed it triggers the blind.

    Thank you very much for feedback. Greatly appreciated.

    Cheers,
    Philip
     
    ampcom, Feb 12, 2018
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.