Defibrillating my old B&W C-Touch!

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by JasonY00, Jul 7, 2020.

  1. JasonY00

    JasonY00

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Sydney
    I know this is probably a long shot...but...

    I have 2x BS5000CT (Stainless Steel Fascia Mk1 B&W C-Touch's) built in Nov 2004 and purchased together. One is still going, but the other has a dreaded reboot loop where it attempts to start, a couple of thin lines appear on the screen, it "Ticks", then starts the process over again. It never displays the "Initialising please wait" message etc.

    Some points to note:
    1. It's possible that it was programmed more than 100 times (and being pre 2006 maybe the flash memory has dementia)
    2. I don't remember downloading an empty scene to it.
    3. C-Bus voltages are +30V and other C-Bus network parameters are all within specs.
    4. The hardware version is Version 1 :)
    5. The Monitor Version 1.1
    6. Its C-Bus firmware Version is 4.4.00 and C-Touch Firmware Version is 3.80.0 AFAIK (as this is what my other screen now says).
    7. As I wasn't scared to void the warranty, upon opening, all electrolytic Capacitors look good and a close apprisal of the board and screen circuitry don't display any obvious hardware faults. All "magic blue smoke" containing components appeared in good order.
    8. From (I think) Darren's excellent "PICED FAQ" Document from 2015, the flowchart (p22) indicates that "the application checksum is not OK" when trying to initialise C-Bus. which is where my "tick" comes from....
    9. I have tried every combination of power cycling/plugging/unplugging/finger-crossing/standing on one leg/facing Mecca that I can think of so far.
    10. I cannot connect to the unit with the serial cable anymore as it continuously reboots.

    After trolling through 33 pages of posts in this forum (with a few nanna naps in between), I have come to the conclusion that it either needs to be buried in the backyard or sent to Clipsal for factory reset. Now I know the first one is definitely possible and the second probably impossible given its vintage...so here's my question. Are there any old (or current) C-Bus insiders that can let me know what was required to do a "factory reset". Did it require specialist equipment, spare parts, magic software, a hammer or any combination of these...?

    Before thinking about purchasing a new B&W Mk2 C-Touch or now obsolete Colour C-Touch 1, 2 or 3, can the demons be exorcised from this old unit or should it be laid to rest. I have a Masters and PhD in Electrical & Biomedical Engineering with a few decades of hands on experience with pretty complicated medical/industrial stuff so I am up for anything, have the necessary lab equipment and believe that nothing is unfixable with the right tools, parts and attitude!

    So, are there any ideas or trade secrets that can help me out...? I hate throwing these sorts of things in the bin.

    Happy to take this conversation offline if it would involve the divulging of any c-bus secrets pertaining to national security. But given that most of this stuff is now made in China anyway (this unit was made in Australia!) perhaps that won't be necessary.

    Cheers and thanks

    Jason
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2020
    JasonY00, Jul 7, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. JasonY00

    chromus

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Perth
    Have u tried powering the disconnected unit from a 19v laptop PSU?

    The constant reboot points at it not RXing enough power and u could at least rule that out
     
    chromus, Jul 9, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. JasonY00

    JasonY00

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks Chromus,

    The screen was running on my main network for some time (years) with voltages of ~29V. I took it off, put it on a bridged network with only a 5500PS and 55000CN2 (~34-35V, plenty of current, almost 300mA, a C-Bus clock from the CNI and a physical burden) and still had no luck. Direct serial connection from the server COM port to the screen using the C-Bus C-Touch serial cable with no extension or USB-Serial conversion. I don't think I could get a more ideal testing environment.

    With the above in mind, however, I will still happily try any troubleshooting advice offered and see if I can find a PSU somewhere of an an acceptable voltage...

    I was hoping someone from Clipsal may be able to explain what the "Factory Reset" entailed even for a FYI.

    Appreciate your time and hope you are well.

    Cheers

    Jason
     
    JasonY00, Jul 10, 2020
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.