Cubs 2

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by Shaun, May 23, 2020.

  1. Shaun

    Shaun

    Joined:
    May 23, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all

    I have a domestic installation where a cubs 2 dimmer has failed. Will I be able to replace it with a new dimmer module?

    Cheers

    Shaun
     
    Shaun, May 23, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Shaun

    Wonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Maybe
    If you know how to wire it correctly and understand how to program it.
    These things don't fail that often without a reason.
    Try and figure out why its failed.
    Has the loads been changed or cables shorted causing the triacs to fail.
    Try and explain what has failed.
    what are the LEDs on the front of the unit doing.
    what are the loads doing ON or OFF.
    Can you turn the loads on and off from the buttons on the front.
     
    Wonkey, May 23, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Shaun

    Shaun

    Joined:
    May 23, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Good point. I tried to connect but had a dodgy usb to 232 converter. Just ordered a moxa unit. I will upload and look into it properly later. I have also seen that Clipsal still sells the dimmer module

    Also it's been in for more than 10 years so wiring should be fine lol

    Cheers for the response
     
    Shaun, May 23, 2020
    #3
  4. Shaun

    chromus

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Perth
    Don’t forget, no license no touch. These things aren’t just live on the input they are always live on the output too.
     
    chromus, May 25, 2020
    #4
  5. Shaun

    Shaun

    Joined:
    May 23, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Chromus don't patronize me mate. I didn't come here asking where to put the red wire.
     
    Shaun, May 25, 2020
    #5
    Ashley W likes this.
  6. Shaun

    chromus

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Perth
    We get all sorts come in here, lots of home owners with no clue, we would rather they lived to use their CBuS.

    If you’re feeling patronised you might need a chill pill.
     
    chromus, May 27, 2020
    #6
  7. Shaun

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Hi Shaun , the advice chromus gave was spot on, many experienced electricians have be caught out by the fact that even with the CBus dimmer output set to off, there is still a voltage on them.

    Stay Safe :)
     
    lcrowhurst, May 27, 2020
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.
Loading...