Ctouch MkII - Timer Countdown

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by chromus, May 29, 2014.

  1. chromus

    chromus

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Perth
    Hi All,

    My wife has asked me to attach the heated towel rail to a toggle Timer on 1 of our Ctouch MkII (logic) units.

    That bit was easy, but she wants it to have a countdown like the EDLT's do.. :eek:

    A) Is it possible?
    B) How? -> I don't care if its simple a separate timer counting down simultaneously (not reading the actual timer).

    Let me know :D
     
    chromus, May 29, 2014
    #1
  2. chromus

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    You can read the remaining time on a local timer using the GetCBusTimer function and stick it in a systemIO and display it using a level component:

    Create a systemIO integer called, say 'TimeLeft' and add a level component to display it.
    Then add the following bit of logic in a new module:


    Code:
    SetIntSystemIO("TimeLeft", GetCBusTimer("Local", "Lighting", "HeaterGA"));
    Delay(1);
    It just copies the timer value to the system io every second.
    If the timer isn't running it will return -1, so you could test for this and hide the component if you wanted to.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2014
    Ashley, May 29, 2014
    #2
  3. chromus

    chromus

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Perth
    Thanks Ashley, I will take a look :)
     
    chromus, May 29, 2014
    #3
  4. chromus

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    You can do it another way..

    Just place a clock component, open it up and change time/date displayed to cbus timer, then go to cbus tab and it should be type of status, then just choose your group you wish to monitor.. It will display 00:00:00 until timer it started, then will count down..



    Cheers..
     
    Roosta, May 29, 2014
    #4
  5. chromus

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Very neat. Didn't ever notice you could select a cbus timer as a source for a clock component. Only limitation is you seem to be stuck with a fixed format of hh:mm or hh:mm:ss
     
    Ashley, May 29, 2014
    #5
  6. chromus

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Indeed you do only have those options, however it suffices for most situations.. I have also in the past put a status indicator block infront of the timer to block out the hours section and only show minutes, and also have set it up so when the timer is inactive, ie group is off, it blanks out the timer, and then when it goes active it shows the timer.. Simple solutions are always good.. :)

    Cheers..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2014
    Roosta, May 29, 2014
    #6
  7. chromus

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hehe? I have had exactly the same thing for exactly the same use on my Colour Touch for years.. which was why I added the feature in the timer widget in eDLT :)

    Glad your wife likes it :D

    Nick
     
    NickD, May 31, 2014
    #7
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.