Creating a wireless link between 2 wired networks

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wireless Hardware' started by jboer, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. jboer

    jboer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi All,

    I am trying to add 2 wired relay units to an existing install via a wireless link, but this is my first foray in to CBus wireless and I am a bit stuck.

    I have my 2 wireless gateways and can not seem to get them to talk to each other.
    I have put both of the gateways onto their respective wired networks and have tried creating wireless networks on both sides and as well as just one and various combinations of pressing learn on the gateways and scanning the networks.

    I am presuming I am missing something rather basic in making the 2 gateways learn each other?

    If anyone has a few pointers it would be most appreciated!

    Thanks, JB
     
    jboer, Apr 27, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jboer

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    You need to make a common wireless "House code" so the 2 gateways will talk to each other.

    There is a house code learn button on the bottom of each gateway to put it into house code learn mode. You then need another wireless unit (which you can later take away) to transmit a house code (the means of doing this is in the instructions).

    EDIT: Wired networks don't have house codes, but C-Bus wireless networks do. That's because they need a means of being separate from each other in the event you have 2 wireless networks in the same physical space but you don't want them to chat with each other.
     
    ashleigh, Apr 27, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jboer

    jboer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ah ok, Thanks for the quick response!

    So would any wireless switch unit would work to do that? I might contact our Clipsal Rep and see if I can borrow one if that is the case.
     
    jboer, Apr 27, 2012
    #3
  4. jboer

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Any wireless switch or plug adaptor can do the job.
     
    ashleigh, Apr 28, 2012
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.