Connecting to nac remotely and multiple networks

Discussion in 'C-Bus Automation Controllers' started by L Plater, Sep 2, 2019.

  1. L Plater

    L Plater

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All

    Im a bit of a newby to the cbus world and installing a nac to an existing project, the 254 network is a backbone and then has multiple networks connected via bridges. Question is do i only need to load the 254 network file to the nac or do i need to load each individual network.

    Q2: I can access nac and toolkit whilst on same network but can not access remotely, i have clearly missed a setting but unsure what to change.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated
     
    L Plater, Sep 2, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. L Plater

    chromus

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Perth
    Can't answer the 1st part, but the 2nd part you will need to port forward requests in the sites router/firewall to the unit.

    I'm about to have a client hand me his unit on Weds for me to setup for him, so I should be able to report back on which ports if you can't find them in the manual.
     
    chromus, Sep 2, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. L Plater

    chromus

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Perth
    I quickly reskimmed the manual, at a glance it seems you probably only need port 80 and 22.

    It is bad practice to make these public so I would recommend obfuscating them to something odd eg 9080 and 9022 then on the router direct those request to the init on 80 and 22

    EG

    WAN xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:9080 -> NAC 192.168.xxx.xxx:80
    WAN xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:9022 -> NAC 192.168.xxx.xxx:22
     
    chromus, Sep 2, 2019
    #3
    L Plater likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.