Connecting to Ctouch via usb/rs-232 interface

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by GWA, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. GWA

    GWA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South africa
    Hi Guys

    We are having trouble connecting to the old b/w touchscreens (ir at bottom).

    Its an old client that need some changes.

    We are using the dontronic usb to serial interface.

    When going to options/program options/we have selected the usb serial port.

    And we have tried 2 different cables, also we have tried different interfaces as well.

    If tried installing different versions of PICED.

    Nothing seems to work, what could be the cause of this?

    Also tried on 2 different touch screens.

    Thanks in advance.
     
    GWA, Feb 3, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. GWA

    GWA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South africa
    And tried on 2 different laptops :confused:
     
    GWA, Feb 3, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. GWA

    tobex

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Here are my thoughts.


    First of all did you reset the power on the units to cycle its operation. Some of the original touch panels dont like recoding without being switched off.

    Second, what is the COM port number on the USB device. Is it COM6 or COM5. The PICED defaults to COM1.

    Third, what do you imagine the firmware versions are ? I noticed that when I obtained very old stock from surplus it needed firmware updating in order to function correctly with the newest PICED. You may need an older PICED in order to get started. I believe the firmware version comes up on bootup from power down. PICED matching this firmware revision would be a starting point.

    Fourth, you need to ensure that your FIFO buffers are matching the capability of the serial port application. I often try with and without FIFO (under DEVICE MANAGER > COM PORT > ADVANCED ). The Baud rate also has to be validated for the application.

    Fifth, are you able to CONNECT TO UNIT prior to uploading the project.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2012
    tobex, Feb 3, 2012
    #3
  4. GWA

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Try enabling the C-Touch messages in the log before doing a transfer. Post the log here and that will tell us something about what is going on.
     
    Darren, Feb 4, 2012
    #4
  5. GWA

    Newman

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    A few other thoughts:

    - If the old C-Touch has inadvertently had C-Bus connected to the serial 8P8C connector at the back (RJ-45) then that will damage the transceiver and communication with it over serial will not be possible, regardless of the update method.
    - The Serial to RJ-45 cables can sometimes get bad connections at the RJ-45 end. If you've got a couple of serial cables lying around, try them all.
    - If possible, it would be great to confirm that you can update these screens using a native serial port. This will be very helpful in confirming if the issue is USB related.
     
    Newman, Feb 4, 2012
    #5
  6. GWA

    GWA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South africa
    1) Yes, Infact the second touch we tried came from one of my colleages' house.
    2) In the Program options you can select which COM port to use so i doubt that this would be the problem.
    3)Under diagnostics you can view startup page and that gives you the firmware version, in this case it was 3.7 so i tried downgrading, had to get older toolkit as well.
    4)I have noticed under "program options" it has BAUD of 38k as default, you cant change that there but have tried changing it on the USB device which is defaulted to 9600.
    5)No, I cant connect to the unit at all.
     
    GWA, Feb 7, 2012
    #6
  7. GWA

    GWA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South africa
    I have tried different cables, I dont think the problem is with the cables.

    When using my USB serial converter to interface with oter controllers/power meters etc. I usualy have to change settings on my USB port (BAUD rate, Stop Bits, Flow control etc.) The problem is i cant find any documentation stating what settings the ctouch is using, Only hint is the 38k default i see when selecting the COM port IN programming options.
     
    GWA, Feb 7, 2012
    #7
  8. GWA

    tobex

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia

    Please try this. Click on advanced and disable / enable FIFO
     
    tobex, Feb 7, 2012
    #8
  9. GWA

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    PICED sets the baud rate and other properties of the COM Port (in this case via a USB adaptor) automatically. You do not need to change any settings yourself. You may want to check FIFO buffers as tobex suggested though.

    Also, a log file would be useful (see post above).
     
    Darren, Feb 8, 2012
    #9
  10. GWA

    GWA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South africa
    Tobex : i cant find the "FIFO" setting. See attachment

    Darren:

    Settings:
    Master Unit: Yes
    Start-up: Show Wizard
    Auto Save: yes
    Show Hex Values: no
    Right Click Action: yes
    HTML Reports: yes
    Auto Edit: no
    Auto Close C-Gate: no
    Allow Multiple: yes
    Log Limit Size: yes
    Log Info: no
    Log C-Gate: no
    Log C-Touch/PAC: no
    Log Logic Debug: no
    Log Logic Serial: no
    Log Logic Sockets: no
    Log Usage & Debug: no
    Log E-Mail: no
    Log Tx C-Bus: yes
    Log Rx C-Bus: yes
    Log Lighting: yes
    Log Labels: yes
    Log Security: yes
    Log Telephony: yes
    Log Measurement: yes
    Log Error App: yes
    Log HVAC: yes
    Log Date/Time App: yes
    Log Media Transp.: yes
    Log Monitors: yes
    Log Power Meters: no
    C-Bus Tx : Set DUMMY NIGHT MODE LIGHTS OFF Off (Schedule "TURN OFF DUMMY NIGHT MODE LIGHTS OFF")
    C-Bus Tx : Set DUMMY ENTRY LIGHTS ON @ NIGHT Off (Schedule "TURN OFF DUMMY SECURITY OFF LIGHTS ON")
    C-Bus Tx : Set INTURDER LIGHTS ON Off (Schedule "TURN OFF DUMMY INTURDER LIGHTS ON")
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Bus Tx : Set DUMMY NIGHT MODE LIGHTS OFF Off (Schedule "TURN OFF DUMMY NIGHT MODE LIGHTS OFF")
    C-Bus Tx : Set DUMMY ENTRY LIGHTS ON @ NIGHT Off (Schedule "TURN OFF DUMMY SECURITY OFF LIGHTS ON")
    C-Bus Tx : Set INTURDER LIGHTS ON Off (Schedule "TURN OFF DUMMY INTURDER LIGHTS ON")
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
    C-Touch : Tx "80 00 00 06 FF 7A "
     

    Attached Files:

    • fifo.PNG
      fifo.PNG
      File size:
      63.2 KB
      Views:
      373
    GWA, Feb 8, 2012
    #10
  11. GWA

    tobex

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I look at it and wonder if you can lower the USB transfer settings and latency.
     
    tobex, Feb 8, 2012
    #11
  12. GWA

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    From the log it is obvious that C-Touch is not replying at all, which probably means that it is not receiving anything.

    You could connect another device (like a laptop) to the C-Touch end of the cable to see what is coming out.
     
    Darren, Feb 8, 2012
    #12
  13. GWA

    tobex

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It seems like a loopback connector and hyperterminal might be a good step to prove the serial port responds to COM2.
     
    tobex, Feb 8, 2012
    #13
  14. GWA

    GWA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South africa
    Hi guys,

    Thanks for all the help and advice with this issue.

    As for the problem i still have no idea exactly what was causing this but we've sorted it out.

    We borrowed a laptop with a serial port and uploaded first time, so it seems the issue came from the USB converter, which is strange since we often use the converter for other purposes and have allready since.

    My best guess is the opperating system, since both laptops we tried with has windows 7, and we have used this converter succesfully in the past on an XP opperating system.

    Anyway thanks for the replies, appreciate it.
     
    GWA, Feb 13, 2012
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.