Config file failed to download to the unit

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by TomA, Jan 28, 2018.

  1. TomA

    TomA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello
    I have created a Piced project for a clients Black and white touchscreen. I CAN Connect to cbus from piced fine and I CAN also connect to the unit with no issues but when I try to transfer to unit (via cbus in program otions, because I have no dropdown options via serial port for some reason, which I have already followed the instructions on the FAQ 1.2.1.2 (serial com ports not listed) but anyway that's a side issue)
    I CANNOT however transfer to unit as I keep getting "config file failed to download to the unit"
    What am I doing wrong?
    If anyone can help that would be great.
    cheers
     

    Attached Files:

    TomA, Jan 28, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TomA

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Are you plugged into the touch screen with usb?
     
    DarylMc, Jan 28, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TomA

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    While transferring via Cbus is supported it is prone to problems because of the lengthy download times. Anything other than a perfect network will give you problems. You don't say if it's a V1 or V2 touchscreen, but while the V2 has a USB interface it appears as a serial port to windows, so you should be able to see it in device manager. If it's a V1 you will obviously need an existing serial port available on the pc.
     
    Ashley, Jan 28, 2018
    #3
  4. TomA

    TomA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeh mate, I'm connected but no serial ports are coming up
     
    TomA, Jan 28, 2018
    #4
  5. TomA

    TomA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a SC5000CTL2 MKII. When I plug in to the USB on the faceplate of the touchscreen I can see it in device manager however it has a caution marker beside it. I Have tried disabling driver signature as that helped me with the MRA transfer but its not helping in this instance. when I select the drop down box via serial port in program options I have no available options. As mentioned above I have tried adding COM ports as detailed in FAQ but still am unable to see any.
     
    TomA, Jan 28, 2018
    #5
  6. TomA

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    What version of windows? Try re-installing toolkit and use the Force USB installation option. The caution mark tells you the driver hasn't loaded properly which is why you get no com port. You may have loaded some other driver after installing toolkit which has mucked up the proper driver.
     
    Ashley, Jan 28, 2018
    #6
  7. TomA

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    The serial port has to show in device manager and also Toolkit or nothing is going to happen.
    I never had too much problem with it but then I never used a USB interface too much.
    I'd seriously consider rolling back one version from the latest Toolkit and give it a go.
     
    DarylMc, Jan 28, 2018
    #7
  8. TomA

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Maybe that is not the problem but I think it is worth a try.
    You may well be the very first person to find an issue.
     
    DarylMc, Jan 28, 2018
    #8
  9. TomA

    TomA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok ill try that, I'm running windows 10 (computer is only 4 months old) what is force USB installation option?
     
    TomA, Jan 28, 2018
    #9
  10. TomA

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    .

    On about the 4th dialog of the Toolkit installation you get the Additional Options page, and one option is to force re-installation of the USB drivers. It should all work fine on Windows 10
     
    Ashley, Jan 28, 2018
    #10
    TomA likes this.
  11. TomA

    TomA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep that sorted me! thanks heaps Ashley
     
    TomA, Jan 30, 2018
    #11
  12. TomA

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    I'd like to hear the Toolkit version with this sort of problem.
    I don't use a USB interface much but it is not something I have come across before.
    Never had to select that option.
     
    DarylMc, Jan 30, 2018
    #12
  13. TomA

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    I suppose Windows version has a large part to play too.
     
    DarylMc, Jan 30, 2018
    #13
  14. TomA

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    The problem is some drivers aren't very well written and specify the hardware just by the generic device id rather than their own specific hardware, so they take over more devices than they should. It's really not windows' fault. Signed drivers were supposed to fix this, but Microsoft made that too hard for many of the smaller suppliers to bother with.
     
    Ashley, Jan 30, 2018
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.