Cbus fault finding

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sparky, Oct 23, 2019.

  1. Sparky

    Sparky

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, we have done a few Cbus jobs over the years but having a bit of trouble fault finding one fairly large site.
    The issue is random loads coming on. They all seemed to be unique to one particular dimmer so we swapped it out for a relay but alas, two days later the fault occurs again.
    All the modules with power supplies seem to test fine and I believe it could be one faulty product causing this. Voltages are all good. Burden and clocks fine. All devices scan well and quickly in toolkit.
    Without removing every sensor or switch one at a time and leaving it for a few days, can anyone suggest a quicker way of isolating a possible faulty product? The fault is not like any scene programmed on the job and the only main programming product is a PACA. Any fault finding suggestion to assist with random groups just suddenly coming on would be appreciated.
     
    Sparky, Oct 23, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Sparky

    znelbok

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    11
    Have you run through the log that toolkit will produce. Leave toolkit connected and let it capture all the events on the bus and see if you can track down the offending device.
     
    znelbok, Oct 24, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Sparky

    bobbio

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It definitely sounds like a relay/dimmer module failing.
    When we experienced the same fault it was from a completely different dimmer module to the one turning the lights on randomly.
    We only found the fault by luck as it happened as we were there. Module just randomly turned off.
    How many modules are on this network?
     
    bobbio, Oct 25, 2019
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.