c touch spectrum interlocking

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by innovative, Jan 16, 2014.

  1. innovative

    innovative

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south australia
    Hey guys, first post so hopefully you can help me out..

    I'm trying to use my spectrum to control my air conditioning zone motors. The motors are running off relay channels and the motors need power for 15 seconds. Each motor has a neutral wire and a open and shut active wire. I have the open active in relay channel 7 and the close wire on relay channel 8. Can I write a program or set it up so if ch 7 is on, ch 8 cannot be? Or vice versa?

    I tried to create a scene that times out after 15sec in which ch7 is set to 100% but ch8 is set to 0% but both channels turn on?? And they both turn off after 15 sec?

    Any help round be great guys!!

    Aaron
     
    innovative, Jan 16, 2014
    #1
  2. innovative

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    It's never a good idea to have interlocking in software. Too easy for things to go wrong with expensive results. The best idea would be to use an external change over relay (or buy a CBus one) with the NO and NC contacts going to the motor wires. One CBus relay operates the change over relay and the other supplies power to the common contact. One scene just pulses the power relay for 15 seconds and the other both power and direction relays for 15 seconds.
     
    Ashley, Jan 16, 2014
    #2
  3. innovative

    innovative

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south australia
    I had that idea.. if it's my only option I'll take it but I was wondering if piced allowed interlocking like toolkit does with using a relay for fan speed..?
     
    innovative, Jan 16, 2014
    #3
  4. innovative

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    You can write logic (assuming you have a logic capable device) but as Ashley mentioned its really just an expensive problem waiting to happen..

    In PICED/Toolkit the software is not doing the interlocking for blind and fan control. The individual fan and blind controllers do the interlocking physically..

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 16, 2014
    Roosta, Jan 16, 2014
    #4
  5. innovative

    innovative

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south australia
    Could you suggest a logic sequence to program? I'm yet to cover a great deal of it. I plan to go to the training course this financial year..

    Able to give me a head start?
     
    innovative, Jan 16, 2014
    #5
  6. innovative

    innovative

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south australia
    And yes I realise the risk, I'm now wanting to know just to advance my skill set and yes I have a c touch colour spectrum with logic.
     
    innovative, Jan 16, 2014
    #6
  7. innovative

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    So write some logic.. Its pretty simple with the wizard tool..

    Once Ch7 is On then
    Set Ch8 to Off

    Once Ch8 is On then
    Set Ch7 to Off

    Something along those lines should work..
     
    Roosta, Jan 16, 2014
    #7
  8. innovative

    innovative

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south australia
    Thank you very much:)
     
    innovative, Jan 16, 2014
    #8
  9. innovative

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I would prefer to make sure you can never have both on in the first place.


    Code:
    
    // Zone on
    once  GetLightingState("GA Controlling zone") = ON then
    begin
      SetLightingState("GA of Motor Close Relay", OFF);
      Delay("0:00:01"); // Give it a chance
      PulseCBusLevel("Local", "Lighting", "GA of Motor Open Relay", 100%, "0s", "0:00:15", 0%);
    end;
    // Zone off
    once  GetLightingState("GA Controlling zone") = OFF then
    begin
      SetLightingState("GA of Motor Open Relay", OFF);
      Delay("0:00:01"); // Give it a change
      PulseCBusLevel("Local", "Lighting", "GA of Motor Close Relay", 100%, "0s", "0:00:15", 0%);
    end;
    // Safety catch all in case something else toggles motors
    if (GetLightingState("GA of Motor Close Relay") = ON) and (GetLightingState("GA of Motor Open Relay") = ON) then
    begin
      SetLightingState("GA of Motor Close Relay", OFF);
      SetLightingState("GA of Motor Open Relay", OFF);
    end;
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 16, 2014
    Ashley, Jan 16, 2014
    #9
  10. innovative

    innovative

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south australia
    I agree.

    And thanks mate that's perfect information.

    Very helpful forum this one!
     
    innovative, Jan 16, 2014
    #10
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.