C-Touch Colour 5000CTC3 - SHAC

Discussion in 'C-Bus Automation Controllers' started by Dave Neill, Jul 30, 2020 at 12:02 AM.

  1. Dave Neill

    Dave Neill

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Need to replace a C-Touch Colour 5000CTC3 as it is dead with hopefully a SHAC and 5000ETP10W 10" Touchscreen, fortunately I have a copy of the file but does anyone know if it is possible to transfer logic, scenes and schedules from the old 5000CTC3 to the SHAC ? I understand the interface will have to be done again but would save a heap of time if I dont have to rewrite all the logic etc ??
     
    Dave Neill, Jul 30, 2020 at 12:02 AM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Dave Neill

    Pie Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yeah Nah,
    you cant transfer it across as such, you will need to re-build everything..., scenes and schedules are straight forward but the scripting is totally different and doesn't transfer easily,

    That being said, i've done it several times now and its pretty easy now...
     
    Pie Boy, Jul 30, 2020 at 1:22 AM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Dave Neill

    Dave Neill

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah the scripting was my concern as I have programmed a few SHACs but they were new installs .. Scenes and schedules are easy but any gotchas with the scripts ?
     
    Dave Neill, Jul 30, 2020 at 1:46 AM
    #3
  4. Dave Neill

    Pie Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Lua and Pascal are totally different programming languages.
    Also in the shac there are no global variables or once statements although you can replicate a once statement with flags etc.
    In my opinion, the best way is to port the pascal code to lua is to re-invent the code to be optimised for the shac and use.
    It depends what you are trying to do code wise...
     
    Pie Boy, Jul 30, 2020 at 10:48 AM
    #4
  5. Dave Neill

    Dave Neill

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I appreciate the advice and suggestions :)
     
    Dave Neill, Jul 30, 2020 at 12:17 PM
    #5
  6. Dave Neill

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    The SHAC and Touch Screen logic engines are fundamentally different. The touch screen logic engine is effectively polled (as it executes each module every 200mS), whereas the SHAC is event driven.

    As Pie Boy mentioned, you will need to understand the touch screen logic then redesign the logic for the SHAC.

    How hard this is depends on the complexity of the existing logic.

    Migrating the scenes, schedules and interface is straight forward, but just time consuming
     
    Ashley, Jul 30, 2020 at 1:43 PM
    #6
  7. Dave Neill

    Dave Neill

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ashley Great helps think I will give it a go as I guess the first one will always take me the longest ..
     
    Dave Neill, Jul 31, 2020 at 12:28 AM
    #7
  8. Dave Neill

    chromus

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Perth
    Have you gotten a quote from @Trevor for a repair?
     
    chromus, Jul 31, 2020 at 3:40 AM
    #8
  9. Dave Neill

    Dave Neill

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    No ? I didn’t know they could still be repaired ..
     
    Dave Neill, Jul 31, 2020 at 3:49 AM
    #9
  10. Dave Neill

    chromus

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Perth
    Send him a message :D
     
    chromus, Jul 31, 2020 at 4:17 AM
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.