C-Bus Wireless network mode

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wireless Hardware' started by MichaelCarey, Mar 31, 2015.

  1. MichaelCarey

    MichaelCarey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Lincoln
    Hi Everybody,

    On page 106 and 107 of this document :-

    http://updates.clipsal.com/ClipsalOnline/Files/Brochures/C0000239.pdf

    Mode 3, 4 and 5 Networks are mentioned with a nice graphic showing each C-Bus Wireless unit "talking" to the next one, like an ad-hoc WiFi network.

    Am I right in my thinking that each C-Bus Wireless unit extends the range of the C-Bus Wireless network? I've got a simple C-Bus Wireless network at home in addition to my main wired network.

    I'm trying to control (from my wired C-Bus network) a plug in wireless dimmer in my home theatre which seems to be a little too far away from the Wireless Network Gateway to communication properly. There is a C-Bus Wireless Saturn dimmer in a room that is almost in the middle between the C-Bus Wireless Gateway and the plug-in dimmer... can the C-Bus Wireless network work through the Saturn dimmer to talk to the plug in dimmer?

    Michael.
     
    MichaelCarey, Mar 31, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MichaelCarey

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Wireless units transmit directly to each other so every unit must be in range of every other unit. I believe that the units that were available in the USA market could act as repeaters but not those sold in Australia.
     
    Ashley, Mar 31, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MichaelCarey

    MichaelCarey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Lincoln
    Thanks for that Ashley.

    I'll have to try and relocate the Wireless Gateway in a more favourable location.
     
    MichaelCarey, Mar 31, 2015
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.