C-Bus to BACnet Protocol

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Macka, Jan 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Macka

Macka

Can anyone help with communications from C-Bus over a BACnet protocol. As an electrician I don't have the full gist of BACnet protocol. I think it uses RS485 open protocol ? I need to interface a C-Bus network to talk with a BMS over BACnet. One of the problems is that I need to send many status' to the BMS to control many A/C's in various areas, depending upon the PIR's status for that particular area. One way I can do is by using bus couplers and send "dry" contacts, to which the BMS will need the capacity for these "dry" inputs. Does anyone have any ideas? or other interface ideas to help ?

Macka, Jan 14, 2008
  2. Macka

Darpa

Darpa, Jan 14, 2008
  3. Macka

Darpa

If you want to do further research into the BACNet protocol, then have a look at these websites:

http://www.bacnet.org/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BACnet

I don't really know anything about BACNet, but from everything I've read, it is simply a protocol to define how devices communicate, and is capable of being transmitted/received over many different forms of network media, including, but not limited to, RS232, RS485, Ethernet, etc.

Darpa, Jan 14, 2008
  4. Macka

Macka

Can Scheduler handle BACnet ?

Darpa,

Apparently Scheduler has the ability to communicate via BACnet, modbus etc. But I would need a stand alone PC running scheduler to do the "handshaking"?????

Macka, Jan 15, 2008
  5. Macka

Darpa

I have no idea Macka, I'm out of my league.
    I would assume that you would not need another seperate schedule+ PC just for BACNet if you have a high-level CBus-BACNet gateway, but thats just a guess, not an answer.
    Give it a day or two and someone far smarter than me will hopefully give you the answers you seek :)

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 15, 2008
    Darpa, Jan 15, 2008
  6. Macka

Lucky555