C-Bus Telephone Interface, clicks on the line?

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by MichaelCarey, Sep 3, 2004.

  1. MichaelCarey

    MichaelCarey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Lincoln
    Hi Everybody,
    I have been experimenting with my new C-Bus Telephone Interface. At this stage it is on the bottom of my network wiring closet (close access to phone and C-Bus cables). I have it wired in parallel with one of my phone lines with the "away mode" group tied to the away scenario in my Clipsal minder (wash my mouth out :D) system, which is on a different phone line.
    One thing I have noticed is a weird clicking noise in the earpiece of local phones during a phone call.
    I pick up, make a call and within 20-30 seconds, there are a few clicks in the earpiece. This repeats after a while.
    Why does the Telephone Interface do this? Is there some way to stop it?
    Regards,
    Michael.
     
    MichaelCarey, Sep 3, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MichaelCarey

    Richo

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I haven't experience this issue, but I have only ever used my cbti with all handsets on the secondary phone port. I will ask around and see what other experiences are.
     
    Richo, Sep 6, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MichaelCarey

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    The "wierd clicking noise" is the internal guts of the CBTI looking at the phone line to see if you have dialled the access code. When it figures out that you have not, it gives up looking (this causes the click).

    At the moment, the CBTI will repeat this inspection process. Its planned to prevent this repetition in a future firmware update.
     
    ashleigh, Sep 7, 2004
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.