C-Bus NOT AUSTRALIAN MADE

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Automan, Feb 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Automan

Automan

I have been using Clipsal products for many years and
    always considered its products where Australian Made.

I know it's Schneider (French Owned) and not Australian
    Owned but I have only just realised that all the C-Bus
    stuff is NOT MADE IN AUSTRALIA, I thought it was made
    in Adelaide South Australia.

Why is this happening, I'm sure that Australia is the largest
    market for C-Bus so why is it being imported from China.

Lets face it, its made in China and its not cheap
    so where is the benefit.

Call me patriotic, but with all the resources and talent
    in Adelaide South Australia, there is NO reasons it cannot
    be made in Australia.

Automan

Automan, Feb 22, 2010
  2. Automan

petra

The benefits are obvious mate - Chinese labour cost are extremely low compared to Australia so if you wanna make huge profits you reduce your costs - I'm sure you would do the same?

Patriotism and fair value vanished a long time ago when free trade and capitalism became king!

Dammed if I know how cheap China can make electronic goods, I recently bought (from Ebay) a good quality USB camera, with MIC & IR Leds, software, manual etc all packed up in a neat box for AUD $6.69 including Free Shipping (5 days) from China - how in the hell can they do it -- the poor manufacturer must be selling it for < $3.50 -- boggles the mind what they pay for the parts and raw materials?

If I had to pay FEDEX Freight alone it would cost me ~ $100 ?

petra, Feb 23, 2010
  3. Automan

NickD Moderator

Hi Automan,

Let me correct a few things.

This is not quite true.

High volume items like some of the DIN rail dimmers and relays have been made in China for quite a while.