C-Bus Module time application code error

Discussion in 'C-Bus Serial Protocols' started by KevinH, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. KevinH

    KevinH

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire. UK
    There is a small , easily worked around error in the C-Bus module code for the time application - who do I contact to report this ?
    Darren S was the original author.... is that 'Darren' on here ?

    Cheers Kevin
     
    KevinH, Sep 6, 2011
    #1
  2. KevinH

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Adelaide
    This is a good question.

    I would suggest in the first instance to report it via the project's homepage on sourceforge... if there isn't already someone monitoring that then I'll make sure there soon is :)

    Nick
     
    NickD, Sep 7, 2011
    #2
  3. KevinH

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,392
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Please report it here also.

    The time application is rather complicated, and (shh) I did a lot of work in there as well. If you found a defect, I'm curious to know what it is.
     
    ashleigh, Sep 7, 2011
    #3
  4. KevinH

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Yes, I am here.

    Either post the details here, send me a PM, or send an e-mail to the C-Bus Enabled Program Coordinator and he can forward details to me.
     
    Darren, Sep 7, 2011
    #4
  5. KevinH

    KevinH

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire. UK
    It's very trivial .. and just a compile issue so no problems from this...

    If you don't define CBUS_TIME_BEST_PRIORITY because you just wish to be a slave then the compile fails at line 1292 of cbus_time.c

    if (e_master_priority == cbus_time_ce_priority_1)

    .\cbus_time.c:1292: error: 'e_master_priority' undeclared (first use in this function)

    There just needs to be a change to the #if testing at that point in the code. This I think works although I'm sure there's a tidier way.

    #ifdef CBUS_TIME_BEST_PRIORITY
    if (e_master_priority == cbus_time_ce_priority_1)
    #else
    if (0) // deliberate fail to else
    #endif

    Aside from that I'm using all provided apps and everything seems fine.
    I just had some C++ include issues but I think that's because I added them in the wrong place.

    K
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2011
    KevinH, Sep 7, 2011
    #5
  6. KevinH

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,392
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ah. Oops.

    The time module has to handle about 72,000,000 combinations of master / slave and cbus module interface level. Its a pain, and this one got missed. About a half a dozen of the more common combinations were tested during development.

    I hope Da Boyz will fix this in the codebase, and do an update to sourceforge.
     
    ashleigh, Sep 8, 2011
    #6
  7. KevinH

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    This is in our system as issue number 22049

    It will be resolved in the next release.
     
    Darren, Sep 9, 2011
    #7
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.