C-bus lighting LED dimming

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by StuDuke, Nov 18, 2009.

1. StuDuke

StuDuke

Hi

I am very new to the c-bus scene and just starting to install a system.
    I am starting in our living room and have already installed some 240v GU10s and other 240v zones succesuly.
    My problem is with the LEDs I want to install.
    I am trying to simply fit two stips of 24v red LEDs that I want to dim!
    I didnt think it would be to difficult, at the moment I am using a 4 channel and a 8 channel dimming bank and nobody can tell me what transformers I need, as soon as you mention c-bus they look at me in a strange way or just walk away!

I am also wanting to add a RGB LED system into a alcove in the other room....just looking at the complexity of trying to link the c-bus to a DMX driver is putting me off this.
    Has anyone got any help or experience with the above

Thanks

StuDuke, Nov 18, 2009
  2. StuDuke

Newman

Regarding the dimming of LEDs, you will need a LED ballast/transformer that is designed for dimming. The input to this ballast/transformer could be done with a variety of methods such as DALI, DSI, 0-10V, Phase Control or DMX. C-Bus can be interfaced using all of these methods. You'll need to consider the costs of the ballasts as well as the cost of the required C-Bus gear.

If you want to dim the LEDs using your existing C-Bus Dimmer then you'll need an LED ballast that is designed to work with phase control, but I think you'll find them to be somewhat thin on the ground.

Clipsal is/has about to/has released a C-Bus to DMX gateway that would enable you to connect a DMX LED ballast directly to this. This new product should make the cost of interfacing via DMX much more attractive compared to the ways it has been done in the past.

Newman, Nov 18, 2009
  3. StuDuke

StuDuke

Thanks Newman

Thanks for that.
    I will let you know how I get on with the dimming and will keep an eye out for the DMX gateway

Stu