C-Bus Intercom?

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by *JD*, Oct 17, 2005.

1. *JD*

*JD*

Hello,

My name is John Duncanson (JD). I am starting a new business in Townsville called Home Smart Home. My Background is AV so I am still working on the smart part. My knowledge in C-Bus is very basic and will improve a little when I attend the starters course in November. So please be easy on me :eek:

The first question is in regards to a new home been built and intergrated with C-Bus. The lady of the house would like an intercom system without any additional product on the walls (i.e. Vallet).

My thinking led me to this hopeful solution. The system would use small microphones placed near or above the wallplates and converted back from mic level to line level. Then all the mic's go into a Audio Matrix Switcher and then out to the different zones with ceiling speakers. Owner would then have an intercom that could cover the whole house or just one room. You would also have control of the volume and if you wanted to overide any music.

Questions :-

Can you link an Audio Matrix Switch with another so that I would have enough inputs?

Can a switch be programmed to operate like a intercom button. Talk only while holding done?

Can C-Bus Software have a seperate page on the Colour Touch Screen to engage the switch, and change the input and output to suit the owners intercom requirment?

Can a DLT wall switch also be programed to control the input and output?

Am I Dreaming? :confused:

Your patience would be appriciated.

Many Thanks,

JD

*JD*, Oct 17, 2005
  2. *JD*

Richo

Although it is physically possible to cascade Matrix Swithcers they don't really support it and it wouldn't have the desired effect. You will be able to by a extra Analog RCA port to plug into a Matrix Switcher (this is a seperate hardware unit that uses the digital extension port on the Matrix Switcher)