C-Bus integration with doorbell products

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shubba, Jul 19, 2019.

1. Shubba

Shubba

Hi all,

Am an absolute noob so please be patient with my understanding. We have inherited a house that is all c-bused up and I have taken my time to learn as much as I can about the network here (I have even managed to re-sync some of the lighting when it encountered a hiccup). Anyway, out lovely house is about 10 years old and has a PCI in the server/media room and a C-Bus colour touch (CTC) panel near the kitchen. From the lighting perspective, this is all running well but would now like to expand on this.

We have a front gate out on the street which has an intercom system (Fermax) which includes video camera and also push button numbers that allow the gate to unlock with the right combination, and gets you to the front door.

Soooo....what I think I can understand out of this setup is that originally someone would ring the doorbell, you would hear the chyme inside at the CTC panel, you could see the individual on the screen and you could open the gate from there (and also can open from couple of other c-bus 8 switches inside the house). Suffice to say none of this is working and this little Fermax unit is beeping in pain, I'm happy to bury this thing in the back yard and replace it. We've opened this up and it appears to be hardwired/powered back the to server room where the PCI exists so I have started to look at desired options to try and integrate.

My question is (and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction), is it possible to get the following and if so, which is the best on market product to try with (obviously trying to get back to at least what looks to have been operational before, I've ordered these in mandatory to "nice to have")....

* Have a powered/unit unit on the gate where people can press the doorbell
    * The doorbell rings and we can hear this inside the house (one or multiple audible speakers)