C-Bus development

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ella, Aug 22, 2009.

1. ella

ella

Hi,
    I'm an electronic engineer. Our company has a number of products that we want to make C-Bus enabled. In other words we would like our products to be connected native to C-Bus network. I'm talking about HVAC VRV/VRF controller, communicating thermostats and I/O controllers.

So far we can not found any information about C-Bus network itself. There is some documentation about RS232 gateway as well as upper layer interfaces. But no peace of information about network physical layer and low layer of interface. Am I missing something? Is it possible at all to develop third party C-Bus enabled devices without being Clipsal or it's affiliate? Are there any references?

Thanks a lot.

ella, Aug 22, 2009
  2. ella

Darpa

Hi Ella,

Have a look at http://www.cbus-enabled.com/.

You should be able to find most of the information you're after there, as well as how to have your product/s tested by CIS for conformity and compliance.

You can also purchase cbus interface modules for third party devices, for direct connection to a cbus network. Part number is 5000SM/2.
    Have a look at http://www.cbusforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5022 for a better explanation of what it is.

If you just want the raw documentation, without speaking to Clipsal (I'm not sure why you would want to do that though...), have a look at:
    http://www.cbus-enabled.com/cbus-open.htm

I'm not 100% sure, but I think that you need to be a C-Bus enabled partner to have access to some of the network information that you may be after.

Hope this helps,

Darpa

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2009
    Darpa, Aug 22, 2009
  3. ella

ella

Thanks for your answers
    We have already license agreement with Clipsal. I will study this link