C-Bus and Home Assistant

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ian, Nov 15, 2017.

  1. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you want to integrate C-Bus with Home Assistant (or hass.io), there are a couple of useful articles and addons that make this really easy, and are worth a mention:

    I've had this up and running for a few weeks and it works very smoothly :).
     
    Ian, Nov 15, 2017
    #1
    daniel likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ian

    znelbok

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    11
    Are there any instructions anywhere on how to install cgateweb? Git hub has a single line "Run node index.js"
     
    znelbok, Nov 15, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yep, if you follow the instructions on this blog: http://addictedtopi.tumblr.com/post/101165284373/setting-up-cgateweb-c-bus-to-mqtt-on-linux

    However, use the instructions in the comments to set up "cgateweb.service" (in the same way used for the first step):

    Code:
    [Unit]
    Description=cgateweb
    [Service]
    ExecStart=/usr/bin/nodejs /usr/local/bin/cgateweb/index.js
    Restart=always
    User=root
    Group=root
    Environment=PATH=/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin
    Environment=NODE_ENV=production
    WorkingDirectory=/usr/local/bin/cgateweb
    [Install]
    WantedBy=multi-user.target
     
    Ian, Nov 16, 2017
    #3
  4. Ian

    T666

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bondi Beach Sydney Australia
    Thanks for this!
    I have home assistant installed on an Ubuntu server and I will instal Cgate and Cgateweb soon.

    In connecting my RS-232 PC Interface (5500PC) to my network could something like this industrial converter make it perform like a Network Interface (5500CN) without any scripting or would I still have to use scripts to make the PCI module act like a CNI module?

    http://www.usconverters.com/serial-ethernet-converter-industrial
    vs http://www.usconverters.com/serial-etherent-converter-us2000a
    vs http://www.usconverters.com/db9-rj45-adapter
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2017
    T666, Dec 20, 2017
    #4
  5. Ian

    T666

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bondi Beach Sydney Australia
    I got the RS-232 to USB setup working.
    I can connect my Windows 10 Cbus Toolkit remotely to Cgate on an Ubuntu server
    And I opened a Cbus project Network to the 5500PC using type CNI IP and port 10001 and was able to scan and program all my modules and inputs from the Windows 10 Cbus Toolkit

    Now I need a tutorial for configuring Home Assistant and MQTT to communicate with Cgate

    And how would I go about switching the RS-232-USB cable to an RS-232-RJ45 so i can plug the 5500PC into a network switch instead
     
    T666, Dec 23, 2017
    #5
  6. Ian

    T666

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bondi Beach Sydney Australia
    Got Home Assistant and Cgate working following the1laz guide!

    Going to try the same setup on a Raspberry PI3 so i can put the PI in the Cbus enclosure with the 5500PC

    Still interested in an RS232-Ethernet solution tho so I could put the PI or a full PC with Home Assistant anywhere in the house.
     
    T666, Jan 6, 2018
    #6
    Ian likes this.
  7. Ian

    jasonson

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane
    jasonson, Mar 16, 2018
    #7
  8. Ian

    Jagomeister

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have a system running using:

    Raspberry Pi 3 Model B
    -> Raspbian
    -> Cgate
    -> openHAB

    Into openhab you install the cbus binding.
    Setup the cgate connection and the network.
    Everything will be discovered.

    There are a few limitations
    Biggest one is the binding only supports the main applications
    Lighting, Trigger, DALI, Heating

    Setup the openHAB Cloud
    There are lots of guides for google / apple integration
     
    Jagomeister, Dec 26, 2018
    #8
  9. Ian

    arrikhan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    Do you still run this? I've installed HA, CGATE and cgatetoweb all on the same PI but when I add MQTT to HA through UI it cannot connect?

    Regards,

    BenC
     
    arrikhan, Aug 20, 2019
    #9
  10. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, I still run this - although I've not touched it since installing it at the time of my post. If you use an MQTT sniffer, are you able to see cgateweb reporting back state changes?
     
    Ian, Aug 20, 2019
    #10
  11. Ian

    poldim

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I just got this running a month ago. At some point I plan to do a write up but I had to modify the dockers to make it work for me, so I'm not sure how practical it will be for the greater interwebs...

    The Clipsal hardware, while very pricey, is rock solid..but the software/lack of frontend development has forced me to transition away from Cbus.

    https://i.imgur.com/O5en8VL.gifv
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2019
    poldim, Oct 3, 2019
    #11
    MarkB likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.