Best place to find Cbus equipment?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mbreitba, Oct 27, 2010.

1. mbreitba

mbreitba

I'm the proud owner of a Wiser Home Control System with 4 wireless plug modules. I'm being shipped a power supply module tomorrow so I can power the CNI module and the wireless bridge, and I'll be able to start programming things. I'm looking through the different modules, display panels, etc that are available, but I'm not finding a great place to get them in the US.

All of the equipment that I've got is direct from Schneider Electronics (Square-D). Do I need to go to a wholesaler to find these things? Will things rated for 220 work in my house? Can I mix and match brands? I'm pretty new to all of this, and there appears to be opportunity to do lots of neat things, but I'm really hoping to find a great retailer that is _relatively_ inexpensive.

mbreitba, Oct 27, 2010
  2. mbreitba

ashleigh Moderator

I can't comment about where you can buy this gear in the USA.

But you can't mix and match the 110V / 230V stuff with perhaps one exception: line powered (mains powered) devices that are run off a wall-wart / plug-pack-power-supply will EITHER have a universal (approx 100V to 250V) input, or will be sold in different markets with different model power packs. And for some / all of these you can source your own wall wart if you need to.

Wired-in products, or products with pins to suit the local outlets (eg C-Bus dimmers, relays, wireless) are designed for the line (mains) of the country they are sold into. You CAN NOT use a 230V Australia / UK / Asia dimmer or relay in the USA. The ratings are wrong, and the dimmers won't work.

USA line voltage is nominally 110V (220 with phase-phase), and 275V is also common. The line frequency is 60Hz.

Australia / UK / much of Europe / much of Asia is 230V to 240V, line frequency of 50 Hz.