B&W C-touch - how to indicate that a scene is active ?

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by JohnC, Mar 16, 2006.

1. JohnC

JohnC

Hi all

I am making a new interface for an incredibly complex commercial project. Everything is stored in a B&W Ctouch, and almost everything is scene and schedule based. I need to indicate (on the Ctouch) that a scene has been set.

What I want is a Text Indication saying "ON" or "OFF" in response to whether a scene is active or not. If the scene is broken by something, it'd be great if the status changed, but that is NOT particularly important in this situation.

I've never had a problem with indicators on Key Inputs - they seem to handle scenes fairly well and automatically. But I am not experienced with the Touchscreens...

I tried using Key Function "Scene" and also tried "Status". I've tried setting the key's Visual Properties to show "Status Indication". I've tried Status tab > C-Bus Indicator Active Range... but while offline (Simulation mode) I can't get a Ctouch key to show an indicator when a scene is active.

The PICED Help file says to use C-Bus Indicator Active Range for scenes

HOWEVER - Is this simply because I am working offline, and the various Groups are not feeding back info about scene status (ie: scene set, or not, or broken)?

Is it incorrect that PICED shows me all these (other) options for Indicators on scenes, yet it's not possible?

I haven't got a C-touch here to play with, nor the Network that I'm working on - I'm trying to program it all offline and then dump the whole thing to the devices on site.

Anyway - could someone explain to me how to make Scene Indicators work? And also, how to I "test them" offline ?

Thanks, John

PS: For the PICED 3.4.0 - "to-fix" log (if there is one)