All of command

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jaden66, Feb 6, 2021.

1. Jaden66

Jaden66

Hi,

I would like to have a switch button give an all off command, say button 4 is all lights that I specify, will turn off if they are not already off. I would have thought this is a group setting? Or do I set up a scene and will that show up in my list of what I can assign the buttons to?

Thanks

Jaden66, Feb 6, 2021
  2. Jaden66

Ashley

You use a scene.

What type of switch are you using? We need to know this stuff because we are engineers and electricians so our psychic powers are limited.

Ashley, Feb 7, 2021
    Graham Lamb likes this.
  3. Jaden66

Jaden66

Apologies. I am an electronics engineer and class a switch plate with mec's say like a 5086NL or a 5034N as a switch! Should have stated wall switch!
    What I am trying to do is that anywhere I have 4 buttons on a switch plate, like the 5086L or even a 5085DL, I would like button 4 to throw all lights in a designated group to 'off'. Example, in bed and I think. 'did I turn the office light off?' I can hit button 4 and it will throw that group to all off. If I have a 4 button or 6 button wall switch plate, both the button '4' will do an all off.

Thanks

Jaden66, Feb 7, 2021
  4. Jaden66

Jaden66

I am thinking that the 5085Dl would be able to do a scene and possibly a 'dumb' button plate like the 5086NL cannot?

Jaden66, Feb 7, 2021
  5. Jaden66

Ashley

Both the 5086NL and 5085DL can store and execute scenes. The 5034NL cannot.

Open the switch dialog.
    For the key function select <scene>.
    Click on the 3 dots to the left.
    Click the plus sign by the trigger group and create a new group called say 'global'
    Click on the plus sign by the action selector and create a new on called say 'All Off'
    Select a ramp rate if you want it to happen slowly (this is a good idea as it gives people an idea all the lights are going off).